Lou Reed - The Raven


Rhino/Warner Bros.



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 2.50GB Total play length: 1:15:08

Cover art included, liner notes not included

"Edgar Allan Poe was a man who usually looked on the dark side of life, had more than a few less-than-healthy romantic and sexual obsessions, was known to dabble in dangerous drugs, and was fascinated with the possibilities of the English language, so it's no wonder why Lou Reed regards Poe as a kindred spirit. In his liner notes to the album The Raven, Reed touches on the parallels between their work when he writes, 'I have reread and rewritten Poe to ask the same questions again. Who am I? Why am I drawn to do what I should not?...Why do we love what we cannot have? Why do we have a passion for exactly the wrong thing?' Reed's obsession with Poe's work found a creative outlet when visionary theatrical director Robert Wilson commissioned Reed to adapt Poe's works to music for a production called POE-Try, and The Raven collects the material Reed wrote for this project, as well as a number of dramatic interpretations of Poe's work, featuring performances by Willem Dafoe, Steve Buscemi, Elizabeth Ashley, Amanda Plummer, and others." — AllMusic

1. Overture
2. Edgar Allan
3. Call On Me (feat. Laurie Anderson)
4. The Valley Of Unrest
5. A Thousand Departed Friends
6. Change
7. The Bed
8. Perfect Day (feat. Antony)
9. The Raven
10. Balloon
11. Broadway Song
12. Blind Rage
13. Burning Embers
14. Vanishing Act
15. Guilty (feat. Ornette Coleman)
16. I Wanna Know (The Pit And The Pendulum) (feat. Blind Boys Of Alabama)
17. Science Of The Mind
18. Hop Frog (feat. David Bowie)
19. Tripitena's Speech
20. Who Am I? (Tripitena's Song)
21. Guardian Angel

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it