Ahmad Jamal - Ahmad Jamal's Alhambra


Verve Reissues



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Ahmad Jamal's Alhambra - Now Available in Hi-Res!

One of the All-Time-Best Recordings, Captured by Needle Drop Direct to DSD!

There's something magical about a vinyl needle drop transfer. We've always loved capturing our favorite LPs this way so that we can take them on the go. But a mint RTI virgin vinyl pressing, mastered by Bernie Grundman, of one of the greatest live jazz recordings of all time? Captured straight to DSD by the foremost DSD engineer Gus Skinas? Using a VPI Direct turntable, a Koetsu Onyx phono cartridge and a Pass XP-25 phono preamp? Well, we may have on our hands the finest needle drop ever. And you can have it too!

Ahmad Jamal's Alhambra, recorded live in June 1961 by engineer Ron Malo (the same man who recorded the classic Muddy Waters/Folk Singer), might not be as famous or well-known as Bill Evans' Waltz For Debby, but it belongs in the same class. This is such a beautiful performance and perfect recording that it by rights should be an all-time audiophile classic. And as a DSD, hi-res download, it's finally got its chance to get its due. Featuring the incomparable Ahmad Jamal on piano, Israel Crosby on bass and Vernel Fournier on drums, this is as intimate and detailed a live recording as exists. You're in the room!

In lieu of a transfer from the master tapes for this jewel, we figured the next-best option was a needle drop using a perfectly dialed-in rig (set up by our audio expert Chad Stelly) and the transfer touch of Gus Skinas of the Super Audio Center. The mint LP was played for the very first time for the transfer. The results are breathtaking. In fact, we feel this is among the best sounding files on our Super HiRez site. Have a listen!

"Gents, just a quick word to say that I'm bloody impressed with the brilliant job that you did with the transfer of the LP of Ahmad Jamal's Alhambra to DSD. Damned fine work! Congratulations to Gus and all of you who made this happen...More, please!" - Dr. David W. Robinson, Editor-in-Chief, Positive Feedback Online

"Taken from what were probably bassist Israel Crosby's final recordings with pianist Ahmad Jamal (14 months before the bassist's unexpected death), this (disc) features the classic version of Jamal's Trio (with drummer Vernell Fournier) playing live at the leader's short-lived Chicago club. The interplay between the musicians was often magical, as can be heard on such numbers as 'We Kiss In a Shadow,' 'Love for Sale,' 'Broadway' and 'Isn't It Romantic.'" - AllMusic

1. We Kiss In A Shadow
2. Sweet And Lovely
3. The Party's Over
4. Love For Sale
5. Snowfall
6. Broadway
7. Willow Weep For Me
8. Autumn Leaves
9. Isn't It Romantic
10. The Breeze And I