Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Leonard Slatkin - Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique


2xHD - Naxos



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

Total download size: 2.80GB Total play length: 1:10:05

Cover art and liner notes included

*Recorded in PCM 96 kHz / 24-bit.

2xHD Mastering: René Laflamme

2xHD Executive Producer: André Perry

This album was mastered using 2xHD's proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording they tailor their process specifically for each project, using a selection from their pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original 96kHz/24-bit resolution master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube preamplifier before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable.

Immensely influential, the remarkable Symphonie fantastique was composed while Hector Berlioz was suffering an intense and unreciprocated passion for the Irish actress Harriet Smithson. Its autobiographical tale describes a young musician’s opium-poisoned nightmares of jealous despair and fatal justice following the murder of his beloved. Berlioz wrote a second movement cornet solo into a subsequent revision of the score, here included as an optional extra. He wed his sweetheart actress but, recuperating in Nice, wrote Le corsaire after the final break-up of their marriage.


1. Le corsaire, Op. 21
2. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: I. Reveries: Largo - Passions: Allegro agitato e appassionato assai
3. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: II. Un Bal (Valse): Allegro non troppo
4. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: III. Scene aux Champs: Adagio
5. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: IV. Marche au Supplice: Allegretto non troppo
6. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: V. Songe d'une Nuit du Sabbat: Larghetto - Allegro -
7. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: V. Dies irae -
8. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: V. Ronde du sabbat -
9. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: V. Dies irae et Ronde du Sabbat ensemble
10. Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14: II. Un Bal (Valse): Allegro non troppo (version with cornet obbligato)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it