Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Tower Of Power - Back To Oakland


Music On Vinyl



Product No.:
AMOV 1274
EAN: 8718469537679
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Back To Oakland is the fourth album by Bay Area based band Tower of Power, released in spring 1974. Tower of Power followed their self-titled gold album with (as said by many critics) an even better album. This record had tougher, funkier and better-produced cuts, stronger vocals from Lenny Williams (who was more comfortable as their lead singer), and included an excellent ballad in "Time Will Tell," and a rousing tempo in "Don't Change Horses (In the Middle of a Stream)."

The Tower of Power horn section reaffirmed its reputation in both soul and pop circles. Back To Oakland was voted by Modern Drummer Magazine as one of the most important recordings for drummers to listen to.



Side 1
1. Oakland Stroke…
2. Don’t Change Horses (In The Middle Of A Stream)
3. Just When We Start Makin’ It
4. Can’t You See (You Doin’ Me Wrong)
5. Squib Cakes

Side 2
6. Time Will Tell
7. Man From The Past
8. Love’s Been Gone So Long
9. I Got The Chop
10. Below Up, All The City Lights
11. …Oakland Stroke

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it