The Airborne Toxic Event - Dope Machines

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AEPI 28771
UPC: 888750287717
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 150 Gram - Download Card offer subject to expiration.


or Add to Wishlist

150-gram vinyl with album download card included

Featuring the single "Wrong"

Every so often, one song can change everything. For The Airborne Toxic Event, that particular number happened to be an a capella version of Queen and David Bowie's classic duet "Under Pressure." "Somebody played it for me, and it blew my mind" declares vocalist and guitarist Mikel Jollett. "I made a decision to change my whole approach to music."

The front man would go on to personally produce The Airborne Toxic Event's fourth full-length album and first for Epic Records Dope Machines with the blessing and support of Steven Chen (guitar, keyboards), Anna Bulbrook (violin, keyboard, backing vocals), Daren Taylor (drums), and Adrian Rodriguez (bass).

In the middle of 2014 after moving on from Island Records, Epic Records' C.E.O. L.A. Reid reached out and signed The Airborne Toxic Event - for the second time. "He's a big believer, and he brings a lot of energy to this," recalls Mikel. They've carried a similar energy through three full-length albums. The Airborne Toxic Event [2008] spawned the goldselling single "Sometime Around Midnight" and was named iTunes' No. 1 Alternative Song of the Year. In many ways though, Dope Machines signals something of a rebirth. "It's like debuting a new phase," concludes Mikel. "It was a new approach. We've got a new label.

"We threw out everything we were tired of and moved on to a brand new palette. That was the goal. This isn't what The Airborne Toxic Event is supposed to be. This is who we are."

Side 1
1. Wrong
2. One Time Thing
3. Dope Machines
4. California
5. Time to be a Man

Side 2
6. Hell and Back
7. My Childish Bride
8. The Thing About Dreams
9. Something You Lost
10. Chains

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it