Steve Kuhn Trio - Pavane For A Dead Princess





Product No.:
CVEN 0048 SA
EAN: 4571292516877
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

"Pianist Steve Kuhn, accompanied by David Finck and Billy Drummond, explore classical works by a number of top composers from the 19th and 20th centuries on this Japanese release, though they are used as a launching pad for improvisation. Maurice Ravel's 'Pavane for a Dead Princess' is recast as a soft samba, also incorporating a bit of an earlier standard that was derived from the French Impressionist's piece, 'The Lamp Is Low.' Chopin is obviously one of Kuhn's favorite classical composers, as three of his features, highlighted by a dreamy setting of 'Nocturne in E Flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2.' He brightens the tempo of Claude Debussy's 'Reverie' while retaining its lyricism, while slowing Johannes Brahms' 'Lullaby' to a crawl and demonstrating how a master jazz pianist utilizes space as an element of improvisation. Classical purists are always upset with jazz arrangements of 'their' music, but anyone who loves both musical worlds will appreciate Steve Kuhn's thoughtful arrangements of music that has easily stood the test of time." — AllMusic

• Single Layer Stereo SACD

Steve Kuhn, piano
David Finck, bass
Billy Drummond, drums

1. Im Always Chasing Rainbows - Fantasy Impronptu
2. Pavane For A Deac Princess
3. Moon Love - Synphony #5 2nd Movement
4. One Road Rose Forever - Ich Liebe Dich
5. Swan Lake
6. Nocturne In E-flat Major Op 9, No.2
7. Reverie
8. Prelude In E Minor Op28, No.4
9. Full Moon And Empty Arms - Piano Concerto #2 3rd Movement
10. Pavane
11. Lullaby

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it