Bob Dylan And The Band - The Basement Tapes: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 11

 (Complete Edition)

Total download size: 3.90GB Total play length: 6:34:51

2016 Grammy Award winner - Best Historical Album

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Featuring Bob Dylan and The Band

Chronicling Dylan's legendary 1967 sessions with The Band!

Compiled from meticulously restored original tapes

The Basement Tapes Complete brings together, for the first time ever, every salvageable recording from Bob Dylan's legendary 1967 recording sessions with members of his touring ensemble who would later achieve their own fame as The Band.

Having transformed music and culture during the early 1960s, Bob Dylan reached unparalleled heights across 1965 and 1966 through the release of three historic albums, the watershed single "Like A Rolling Stone," a controvversial and legendary "electric" performance at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival and tours of the U.S., Britain and Europe. Dylan's mercurial rise and prodigious outpouring of work stopped in July 1966 when he was reported to have been in a serious motorcycle accident in upstate New York.

While recovering, Dylan ensconced himself, along with Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and later, Levon Helm, in the basement of a small house dubbed "Big Pink" by the group, in West Saugerties, New York. This collective, which would come to be known as Bob Dylan and The Band, recorded more than a hundred songs over the next several months including traditional covers, wry and humorous ditties, off-the-cuff performances and most important, dozens of newly-written Bob Dylan songs, including future classics "I Shall Be Released," "The Mighty Quinn," "This Wheel's On Fire" and "You Ain't Going Nowhere."

When rumors and rare acetates of some of these recordings began surfacing, it created a curiosity strong enough to fuel an entirely new segment of the music business: the bootleg record. In 1969, an album mysteriously titled Great White Wonder began showing up in record shops around the country carrying this new contraband Dylan music.

The actual recordings remained commercially unavailable until 1975 when Columbia Records released a scant 16 of them on The Basement Tapes album (that album also included eight new songs by The Band, without Dylan).

A critical and popular success, The Basement Tapes went Top 10 in the U.S. and U.K., with John Rockwell of The New York Times calling it "one of the greatest albums in the history of American popular music." Still, over the years the songs on The Basement Tapes have haunted and perplexed fans, with the recordings themselves representing a Holy Grail for Dylanologists, causing them to wonder "What's on the rest of those reels?"

The answer arrives via The Basement Tapes Complete, which brings together for the first time every salvageable recording from the tapes including recently discovered early gems recorded in the "Red Room" of Dylan's home in upstate New York. Garth Hudson worked closely with Canadian music archivist and producer Jan Haust to restore the deteriorating tapes to pristine sound, with much of this music preserved digitally for the first time.

The decision was made to present The Basement Tapes Complete as intact as possible. Also, unlike the official 1975 release, these performances are presented as close as possible to the way they were originally recorded and sounded back in the summer of 1967. The tracks on The Basement Tapes Complete run in mostly chronological order based on Garth Hudson's numbering system.


1. Edge of the Ocean
2. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
3. Roll on Train
4. Mr. Blue
5. Belshazzar
6. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
7. You Win Again
8. Still in Town
9. Waltzing with Sin
10. Big River
11. Big River
12. Folsom Prison Blues
13. Bells of Rhymney
14. Spanish is the Loving Tongue
15. Under Control
16. Ol' Roison the Beau
17. I'm Guilty of Loving You
18. Cool Water
19. The Auld Triangle
20. Po' Lazarus
21. I'm a Fool for You
22. I'm a Fool for You
23. Johnny Todd
24. Tupelo
25. Kickin' My Dog Around
26. See You Later Allen Ginsberg
27. See You Later Allen Ginsberg
28. Tiny Montgomery
29. Big Dog
30. I'm Your Teenage Prayer
31. Four Strong Winds
32. The French Girl
33. The French Girl
34. Joshua Gone Barbados
35. I'm in the Mood
36. Baby Ain't That Fine
37. Rock, Salt and Nails
38. A Fool Such As I
39. Song for Canada
40. People Get Ready
41. I Don't Hurt Anymore
42. Be Careful of Stones That You Throw
43. One Man's Loss
44. Lock Your Door
45. Baby, Won't You be My Baby
46. Try Me Little Girl
47. I Can't Make it Alone
48. Don't You Try Me Now
49. Young but Daily Growing
50. Bonnie Ship the Diamond
51. The Hills of Mexico
52. Down on Me
53. One for the Road
54. I'm Alright
55. Million Dollar Bash
56. Million Dollar Bash
57. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
58. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
59. I'm Not There
60. Please Mrs. Henry
61. Crash on the Levee
62. Crash on the Levee
63. Lo and Behold!
64. Lo and Behold!
65. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
66. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
67. I Shall be Released
68. I Shall be Released
69. This Wheel's on Fire
70. Too Much of Nothing
71. Too Much of Nothing
72. Tears of Rage
73. Tears of Rage
74. Tears of Rage
75. Quinn the Eskimo
76. Quinn the Eskimo
77. Open the Door Homer
78. Open the Door Homer
79. Open the Door Homer
80. Nothing Was Delivered
81. Nothing Was Delivered
82. Nothing Was Delivered
83. All American Boy
84. Sign on the Cross
85. Odds and Ends
86. Odds and Ends
87. Get Your Rocks Off
88. Clothes Line Saga
89. Apple Suckling Tree
90. Apple Suckling Tree
91. Don't Ya Tell Henry
92. Bourbon Street
93. Blowin' in the Wind
94. One Too Many Mornings
95. A Satisfied Mind
96. It Ain't Me, Babe
97. Ain't No More Cane
98. Ain't No More Cane
99. My Woman She's A-Leavin'
100. Santa-Fe
101. Mary Lou, I Love You Too
102. Dress It up, Better Have it All
103. Minstrel Boy
104. Silent Weekend
105. What's it Gonna be When it Comes Up
106. 900 Miles from My Home
107. Wildwood Flower
108. One Kind Favor
109. She'll be Coming Round the Mountain
110. It's the Flight of the Bumblebee
111. Wild Wolf
112. Goin' to Acapulco
113. Gonna Get You Now
114. If I Were a Carpenter
115. Confidential
116. All You Have to do is Dream
117. All You Have to do is Dream
118. 2 Dollars and 99 Cents
119. Jelly Bean
120. Any Time
121. Down by the Station
122. Hallelujah, I've Just Been Moved
123. That's the Breaks
124. Pretty Mary
125. Will the Circle be Unbroken
126. King of France
127. She's on My Mind Again
128. Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
129. On a Rainy Afternoon
130. I Can't Come in with a Broken Heart
131. Next Time on the Highway
132. Northern Claim
133. Love is Only Mine
134. Silhouettes
135. Bring it on Home
136. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Ladies
137. The Spanish Song
138. The Spanish Song
139. 900 Miles from My Home / Confidential

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it