The Beach Boys - Smiley Smile

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
EAN: 4988005861528
Limited Stock

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

Original Price: $59.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram Vinyl Record
Mono Version

Hybrid Stereo SACD
Mono And Stereo Mixes

Plays only in a Super Audio Disc Player

1967 album features "Good Vibrations!"

Smiley Smile is the 12th studio album by The Beach Boys, released on September 18, 1967. Devised as a substitute to their then-forthcoming Smile — an LP which would have contained elaborately orchestrated compositions labored over for several months — Smiley Smile is best known for its contrasting lo-fi production with an avant-garde and minimalist rock approach to arranging, being largely recorded in Brian Wilson's makeshift home studio over a period of two weeks. The massive acclaim of the Beach Boys' 1966 single "Good Vibrations" placed high expectations on the group.

Smile was originally intended for a Christmas 1966 release, but by May 1967, the band had yet to release any material, and their popularity in the U.S. started to suffer. Following Smile 's abandonment, the band cancelled their appearance at the Monterey Pop Festival. After settling payment disputes with Capitol Records, Smiley Smile was distributed in collaboration with Brother Records, a new record label and holding company founded by the group. It has since grown in stature over the years to become a cult and critical favorite in the Beach Boys' oeuvre.

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player

1. Heroes and Villains
2. Vegetables
3. Fall Breaks and Back to Winter (W. Woodpecker Symphony
4. She’s Going’ Bald
5. Little Pad
6. Good Vibrations
7. With Me Tonight
8. Wind Chimes
9. Getting’ Hungry
10. Wonderful
11. Whistle In

(5 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.