The Band - Northern Lights - Southern Cross

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
EAN: 4988005861597
Limited Stock

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

Original Price: $59.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Plays only in a Super Audio Disc Player

1975 release contained first new material since 1971's Cahoots album!

Northern Lights - Southern Cross is the sixth studio album by Canadian-American rock group The Band, released in 1975. It was the first album to be recorded at their new California studio, Shangri-La, and the first album of all new material since 1971's Cahoots. All eight songs are credited as compositions of guitarist Robbie Robertson. Northern Lights - Southern Cross was recorded using a 24-track console, which allowed Garth Hudson to include multiple layers of keyboards on several tracks.

Three songs from the album, "Ophelia," "It Makes No Difference," and "Adadian Driftwood" were performed at The Last Waltz, The Band's 1976 final performance.

"The album was the Band's finest since their self-titled sophomore effort. Totaling eight songs in all, on this album the Band explores new timbres, utilizing for the first time 24 tracks and what was (then) new synthesizer technology. 'Acadian Driftwood' stands out as one of Robertson's finest compositions, the equal to anything else the Band ever recorded." — AllMusic

1. Forbidden Fruit
2. Hobo Jungle
3. Ophelia
4. Acadian Driftwood
5. Ring Your Bell
6. It Makes No Difference
7. Jupiter Hollow
8. Rags and Bones

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it