M. Ward - Transistor Radio

 (+ Download Code)


Merge Records



Product No.:
AMRG 50260
UPC: 673855026015
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record & CD

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180-gram vinyl

Full album download included

Includes bonus CD of four unreleased recordings

"A huge talent deserving wider broadcast." — The Guardian

Merge has reissued M. Ward's 2005 album Transistor Radio on 180-gram vinyl. The new LP pressing includes a CD containing four previously unreleased recordings.

Music writer Jud Cost wrote this about the Transistor Radio reissue:

"If you totally lost it when you first heard the masterful CD version of the opening track, a lump-in-the-throat instrumental reworking of Brian Wilson's Pet Sounds gem 'You Still Believe in Me,' wait until you feel the sun scorch your face from the ultra-warm PVC treatment. Better keep some Coppertone handy.

"On the other hand, 'Fuel for Fire' has enough country heartbreak it should have been covered by George Jones. And then there's 'Four Hours in Washington,' the insomniac's nightmare, opening with a groan of Twin Peaks-like guitar chords before the tale unravels thusly: 'Well, it's one in the morning and I can't sleep at night / I hear wolves around the doorstep, they're circling outside / I count 'em jumping over fences and landing on the sheets / Now it's two in the morning and I can't fall asleep.'

"If you've been itching to drop your tonearm onto one of Transistor Radio's 16 jackpot tracks, here's your chance, hi-fi worshipper."


LP Tracks
Side 1
You Still Believe in Me
One Life Away
Sweethearts on Parade
Fuel for Fire
Four Hours in Washington
Regeneration No. 1
Big Boat

Side 2
Paul’s Song
Radio Campaign
Here Comes the Sun Again
Deep Dark Well
Oh Take Me Back
I’ll Be Yr Bird
Lullaby + Exile
Well-Tempered Clavier

Bonus Track List (on CD in LP jacket):
Just the Other Side of Nowhere (Kris Kristofferson cover) – feat. Jim James
Lullaby + Exile (live) featuring Norah Jones
Here Comes the Sun Again (four-track)
Paul’s Song (instrumental) featuring Paul Brainard

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it