Daryl Hall and John Oates - The Very Best Of

Daryl Hall and John Oates - The Very Best Of





Product No.:
CSON 3465 K2N
UPC: 887254346524


Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Numbered edition limited to 1,000 copies

Hall And Oates The Very Best Of Daryl Hall And John Oates on numbered limited edition K2 HDCD

Featuring K2 HD 24-Bit/100kHz mastering!

This K2 HD CD will play on all CD players. Starting out as two devoted disciples of earlier soul greats, Daryl Hall and John Oates are soul survivors in their own right. They have become such musical influences on some of today's popular artists that a headline from a cover of Spin magazine once even read: "Why Hall and Oates are the New Velvet Underground." Their artistic fan base includes Rob Thomas, John Mayer, Brandon Flowers of the Killers, Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie and Gym Class Heroes who dubbed their 2007 tour "Daryl Hall for President Tour." One of the most sampled artists in music, their impact can be heard everywhere from boy band harmonies, to neo-soul to rap-rock fusion.

Signed to Atlantic by Ahmet Ertegan in the 1970's, Hall & Oates have sold more albums than any other duo in music history. Their 1973 debut album, Abandoned Luncheonette, produced by Arif Mardin, yielded the Top 10 single, "She's Gone," which also went to No. 1 on the R&B charts when it was covered by Taveras. The duo recorded one more album with Atlantic, War Babies, (produced by Todd Rundgren) before they were dropped and promptly signed to RCA. Their tenure at RCA would catapult the duo to international superstardom.

From the mid-'70s to the mid-'80s, the duo would score six No. 1 singles, including "Rich Girl" (also #1 R&B), "Kiss on My List," "Private Eyes," "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do) (also #1 R&B), "Maneater" and "Out of Touch" from their six consecutive multi-platinum albums; '76's Bigger Than Both of Us, '80's Voices, '81's Private Eyes, ‘82's H2O, ‘83's Rock N Soul, Part I and ‘84's Big Bam Boom. The era would also produce an additional five Top 10 singles, "Sara Smile," "One on One," "You Make My Dreams," "Say It Isn't So" and "Method of Modern Love."

This insurmountable 2001 Very Best Of compilation collects 18 of the aforementioned hits from the top duo of all time including "Sara Smile," "Rich Girl," "Kiss On My List," "Private Eyes," "I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)," "Did It In A Minute," "Family Man" and "Maneater" among many more!



1. Sara Smile
2. Rich Girl
3. It's a Laugh
4. Wait for Me
5. You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling
6. Kiss on My List
7. You Make My Dreams
8. Private Eyes
9. I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)
10. Did It in a Minute
11. Maneater
12. One On One
13. Family Man
14. Say It Isn't So
15. Adult Education
16. Out of Touch
17. Method of Modern Love
18. Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it