Patricia Barber - Mythologies


Mobile Fidelity


Female Vocalists

Product No.:
AMOB 2318
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

or Add to Wishlist

A singular jazz work, Patricia Barber's groundbreaking Mythologies is the result of the pianist becoming the only singer-songwriter to ever win a Guggenheim Fellowship. Allowed the time to craft a sophisticated album, the ambitious 2006 set is without peer in any musical genre. A cycle based on Greek mythology and Ovid's "Metamorphoses," Mythologies brings each of the 11 characters from Ovid's play to life in song.


1. The Moon
2. Morpheus
3. Pygmalion
4. Hunger
5. Icarus (for Nina Simone)
6. Orpheus/ Sonnet
7. Persephone
8. Narcissus
9. Whiteworld/ Oedipus
10. Phaethon
11. The Hours

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.

surprisingly noisy

posted on 02/24/2012
3 Stars
Reviewer: french vinyl addict
Music recorded at a very low level, noise become inevitable when volume goes high. Quite disturbing compared to the remastered Cafe Blue 2011.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.