Freddie King - Woman Across the River

Freddie King - Woman Across the River


Analogue Productions Blues



Product No.:
AAPB 8919

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Pressed at Quality Record Pressings for superior and stunning pitch-black depth.

Woman Across The River, released in 1973, was the final of three titles Freddie King recorded for Leon Russell's Tulsa-based Shelter label. It marks the end of a very memorable run where Russell brilliantly produced King by building up his sound with funky touches and song choices, all while remaining subtle enough to let the singular and inimitable sound of one of blues' most influential guitarists and singers shine brightly. Russell pulled out all the stops for this last effort, including some string arrangements and backup singers.

The songs include a mix of blues standards, some Russell tunes and R&B/soul material from greats like Ray Charles and Percy Mayfield.

The backing band includes Don Preston on guitar, Rev. Patrick Henderson on piano and organ, Leon Russell on piano, Carl Radle on bass, Chuck Blackwell and Jim Keltner on drums and the O'Neal Twins on backing vocals.

Woman Across The River - along with King's other two Shelter releases, Getting Ready... and Texas Cannonball - are like classics that never became classic. They are among the records that anyone who has some sense of what sounds hip and right and funky and good owns. All three are front-to-back killers and not just for the hardcore blues fan. When Russell started his Shelter label, he reportedly did so partly to play out his vision of recording one of his favorites, Freddie King. Clearly, he knew that these could be great records, and they are.


1. Woman Across the River
2. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
3. Danger Zone
4. Boogie Man
5. Leave My Woman Alone
6. Just a Little Bit
7. Yonders Wall
8. Help Me Through the Day
9. I'm Ready
10. Trouble in Mind
11. You Don't Have to Go

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it