Severe winter weather throughout the Northeast U.S. is hampering deliveries to customers in that region. Order arrival delays are possible.

Advanced Search
Sign Up for Our Email Newsletter




Gift Certificates
Music Music Vinyl Record Vinyl Record 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Glenn Gould - A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde & Orlando Gibbons

Glenn Gould - A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde & Orlando Gibbons



150 Gram LP

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

"The two northern masters represented by this disc, though united by a distinctively and imperishable English brand of conservatism, are not, all puns intended, byrds of a feather. They share an idiom but not an attitude; Gibbons plays the introspective Gustav Mahler to Byrd's more flamboyant Richard Strauss. For this reason, perhaps, Gibbons, though a virtuoso of repute among his fellows, never shows to best advantage in instrumental music. Byrd, on the other hand, though the creator of incomparable music for the voice, is also a patron saint of keyboard writing. He is, indeed, one of the 'naturals' – in his music, like that of Scarlatti, Chopin and Scriabin, no unfelicitous phrases need apply – and all of his prolific output for the keyboard is distinguished by a remarkable insight into the ways in which the human hand can most productively be employed upon it." – Glenn Gould

1.   Byrd: First Pavan and Galliard
2.   Gibbons: Fantasy in C
3.   Gibbons: Allemande, or Italian Ground
4.   Byrd: Highe Ashton's Ground
5.   Byrd: Sixth Pavan and Galliard
6.   Gibbons: 'Lord of Salisbury' Pavan and Galliard
7.   Byrd: A Voluntary
8.   Byrd: Sellinger's Round
Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 12/07/2007
5 Stars
This is really for those unacquainted with this wonderful repertoire who may have overlooked this great performance. In a nutshell, it will not disappoint and it will be a record to return to. Like the other Gould releases ( the 1955 Goldbergs,Bach fugues, Brahms intermezzi) this is a top notch interpretation , an excellent pressing with lots of presence and a great sense of what a piano should sound like. This gets a very enthusiastic recommendation.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.

View other items by Glenn Gould
Send to a Friend
Print this Page