Peter Green Splinter Group - The Robert Johnson Songbook


Madfish Records



Product No.:
AMDF 1073
UPC: 636551807319
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

20th Anniversary Edition — released on vinyl for the first time!

180-gram vinyl reissue — Fleetwood Mac's founder performs songs written by King of the Delta blues!

The consummate blues guitarist, Peter Green, and bandmates, perform outstanding interpretations of classics by bluesman Robert Johnson. This was the first British album to win a prestigious W.C. Handy Award.

The Peter Green Splinter Group is a band formed in the late 90s by Peter Green, Nigel Watson and Cozy Powell. The Splinter Group is Peter Green's third band after having to replace Eric Clapton in John Mayall's Blues Band in the mid-'60s (no easy task for someone following in the footsteps of so-called "God"). His extraordinary guitar style, heavily influenced by B.B. King's delicate tone would then take him into the early days of Fleetwood Mac, or as known at the beginning: "Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac."

With his own band, Green was able to achieve international fame with hits such as "Black Magic Woman," "Need Your Love So Bad" and "Albatross." In the long-run Green has perhaps not had the recognition that contemporaries Clapton, Page and Hendrix have had, yet Peter Green's guitar playing has and should be placed with the very highest. The Splinter Group continues Green's passion for Blues and between 1997 and 2004, the band released an impressive nine albums.

1. When You Got a Good Friend
2. 32-30 Blues
3. Phonograph Blues
4. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
5. Stop Breakin’ Down Blues
6. Terraplane Blues
7. Walkin’ Blues
8. Love in Vain Blues
9. Ramblin’ on My Mind
10. Stones in My Passway
11. Me and the Devil Blues
12. Honeymoon Blues
13. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
14. I Believe I’ll Dust My Broom
15. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
16. Sweet Home Chicago

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it