Tete Montoliu Trio - Catalonian Rhapsody





Product No.:
CVEN 0265 SA
EAN: 4571292519700
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

Traditional catalonian melodies on SACD!

Tete Montoliu (1933-1997) was a bebop-oriented pianist from Barcelona whose influences included Bud Powell, Al Haig, Lennie Tristano, Oscar Peterson, and Wynton Kelly as well as Art Tatum and Bill Evans. He began to be recognized outside of Spain in the late 1950s, recording with Lionel Hampton in 1956 and playing with the touring Roland Kirk in 1963. He also worked with Kenny Dorham, Dexter Gordon, Ben Webster, Lucky Thompson, and Anthony Braxton, and eventually became one of the most celebrated jazz pianists in Europe.

Catalonian Rhapsody is a very special album Tete recorded in his late period. This recording, which took place in Barcelona in 1992, captured Tete playing traditional Catalonian melodies in a trio setting, supported by bassist Hein Van de Geyn and drummer Idris Muhammad. This great album is now remastered by Venus Records and presented to jazz fans with superb sound quality!

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!
• Japanese pressing

Tete Montoliu, piano
Hein Van de Geyn, bass
Idris Muhammad, drums

1. The Lady From Aragon
2. Catalonian National Anthem
3. Three Young Ladies
4. The Singing Of The Birds
5. Song Of The Robber
6. Words Of Love
7. Don’t Smoke Anymore
8. My Street

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it