Sonny Rollins - The Bridge


Total download size: 1.60GB Total play length: 40:49

Cover art and liner notes included

1962 album marks saxophonist's return after taking break to refine his playing

Scintillating album of originals and standards features guitarist Jim Hall

"One of the greatest albums from one of jazz's greatest musicians." — Inkblot Magazine

How badly did Sonny Rollins want to refine his playing? The saxophonist shocked the world in 1959 and took a break, returning in 1962 with this splendiferous set, named after the Williamsburg Bridge, where he practiced by himself. He's paired here with guitarist Jim Hall, whose communicative lines, along with Rollins' esteemed solos and melancholy patterns, gives The Bridge lofty status. The quartet tackles both originals and standards such as Billie Holiday's "God Bless the Child" and Cole Porter's "You Do Something to Me," turning up aces every time.


1. Without a Song
2. Where Are You
3. John S.
4. The Bridge
5. God Bless the Child
6. You Do Something to Me

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it