Wiener Philharmoniker - Beethoven: Symphony No.6 "Pastoral" / Schubert: Symphony No.5


Deutsche Grammophon



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 1.30GB Total play length: 1:14:09

Cover art and liner notes included

For many music lovers, this is the most purely beautiful performance of Beethoven's most purely beautiful symphony ever recorded. The playing of the Vienna Philharmonic is the last word in gorgeousness--the woodwind chords chime with such purity that they practically glow with an inner light. But it's not a self-indulgent interpretation at all: the storm rages as violently as anyone has a right to expect, and Karl Böhm keeps the music moving along impulsively, always highlighting the symphonic strength of Beethoven's musical argument. What makes the recording even more special is a Schubert Fifth with exactly the same qualities. Someone at DG clearly knows where the treasures are buried. A great album.

1. 1. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande: Allegro ma non troppo
2. 2. Szene am Bach: (Andante molto mosso)
3. 3. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute (Allegro)
4. 4. Gewitter, Sturm (Allegro)
5. 5. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm: Allegretto
6. 1. Allegro
7. 2. Andante con moto
8. 3. Menuetto (Allegro molto)
9. 4. Allegro vivace

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it