Marquise Knox Band - 17th Annual Blues Masters at the Crossroads

 (Stereo Version)

Total download size: 2.80GB Total play length: 57:51

Cover art and liner notes included

FLAC file created from DSD master.

The first live blues concert recorded entirely in high-res DSD!

Lifelike resolution sounds like front-row VIP concert seating!

Blues Masters at the Crossroads. Produced by Acoustic Sounds, a global audience returns year-after-year to worship the blues at Blue Heaven Studios in Salina, Kansas. For the first time we're presenting six sets recorded live in 2014 at Blues Masters at the Crossroads Oct. 17-18.

Marquise Knox is so at ease on a stage, it's hard to believe that he's still only in his early 20s. Knox has worked with the masters — Henry Townsend, his cousin Big George Brock, Pinetop Perkins, Michael Burks, Lazy Lester and on and on. And, Knox says that he was born too early to meet all of his heroes — so he studies videos of Wolf, Muddy and anyone else he missed.

This excerpt from Here I Am's liner notes says it best. "When you listen to Marquise — 19 years old when he recorded this title — you get the sense that this is what those masters must have sounded like as young men." Marquise's blues are so transparent and bare. It's so easy to feel his music as totally legitimate. The St. Louis blues prodigy has been rocking stages in his hometown and hitting the road hard, playing blues and folk festival dates in places like the Calgary International Blues Festival; Lowell, Mass.; Quincy Ill.; Clearwater, Fla., and many more.

He writes most of his own material — occasionally getting the spirit when he's in front of the microphone. That's how "Throwing Away The Key" came about. He got pinched by the Salina cops on an unpaid traffic citation, in 2013.

Here, Knox is working with a bunch of blues veterans for the first time. And, what a band. Led by Loui Villery, Bobby Bland's long-time sidemen readily accept Knox as bandleader and get right at it. For those of us present to hear Knox offer up "Clock On The Wall" or "Me and Myself Alone," it's history in the making.


1. Walking The Dog
2. No Difference In You And I
3. Shake That Thing
4. Throwing Away The Key
5. Spoken Intro
6. Clock On The Wall
7. Feel Like Going Home
8. I'm Getting Wiser Every Day
9. Me And Myself Alone
10. The Thrill Is Gone

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

I was there!

posted on 01/14/2016
5 Stars
Reviewer: Evan
What a great performance!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.