Kenny Dorham - Quiet Kenny

 (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster)





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 479MB Total play length: 42:15

Cover art and liner notes included

Quiet Kenny is yet another reminder of what a trumpet giant Kenny Dorham was. Whether limning ballads such as "My Ideal," "Alone Together," "I Had the Craziest Dream," and "Old Folks," or investigating the timelessness and intricacies of the blues (his originals in this set with "Blue" in their titles), the former Charlie Parker cohort and ex-Jazz Messenger exhibits his subtle swing, personal sound, and finely-honed harmonic sense. Along the way these reflections and connections with Bird, Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins, Max Roach, Harry James, and Louis Armstrong make for a rich legacy.

with Tommy Flanagan, Paul Chambers, Arthur Taylor

1. Lotus Blossom
2. My Ideal
3. Blue Friday
4. Alone Together
5. Blue Spring Shuffle
6. I Had The Craziest Dream
7. Old Folks
8. Mack The Knife

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it