Found 27 product(s) in the

Digital Download

category that are

In Stock

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 27 Products
Bill Charlap Trio - Uptown, Downtown Product No: XUNI805444F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Impulse

Sonically too compressed

2 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 4, 2018 by Anonymous The Bill Charlap Trio’s Uptown, Downton is one of the loudest jazz albums I’ve ever heard. It sounds nothing like a vintage recording in the era of tube microphones and mixing consoles. The sound of the album is rather hard, with a general lack of dynamics. Charlaps’s piano dominates while the drums and especially the acoustic bass take a backseat in the mix. The piano’s high registers also are noticeably grainy and rather fatiguing on my Sennheiser HD650 headphones. The performance of the musicians on this record is excellent (and would make a great background album for a cocktail party) but I cannot recommend it due to the compressed and unnatural sound.


Duke Ellington and Johnny Hodges - Side By Side Product No: XUNI32661F192
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download
Label: Verve

The Duke at play

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 3, 2017 by Marko The soundstage is simple and analog tape hiss is revealed at track finish. Nonetheless, this one of my absolute favorite recordings. Great presence and vitality, rewarding of high fidelity gear, and a lot of fun musically.


Don Grusin - The Hang Product No: XDGM001D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Don Grusin Music

Punchy, Clean, very dynamic

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 25, 2017 by Anonymous This is a good DSD. It is a little chopped up track to track guess because it's more of a jam session according to the description. There is a lot of fun dynamics (careful with that volume). Sonically it's a little soft in the higher frequencies; some snappy midrange; punchy bass. Its a pretty fun mix of music.


Duke Ellington - Blues In Orbit Product No: XAPJ056D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

Late night studio jam session

5 Stars
Posted Monday, November 21, 2016 by GB ... this music is so easy-going and relaxed, it lifts up the spirit. Certainly not like the more sophisticated pieces of that period, but a joy to listen to. Most amazing is the quality of the recording. Hard to believe this was recorded almost 60 years ago. The instruments sound as if the players were right in the room.


Miles Davis - Someday My Prince Will Come Product No: XAPJ8456D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

A case could be made for this sounding better than KOB

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, September 17, 2016 by AS This album is recorded very upfront and louder and more in your face than Kind of Blue. Jimmy Cobb's drumming is superb and you can really hear his stickwork and the nuances of his cymbal playing on this recording.

Kind of Blue is an impressionistic watercolor painting compared to Someday My Prince Will Come which is a well lit photo taken with a large format camera.

The tunes are excellent and the playing is tight.

From an audiophile perspective, this is one of the best sounding Miles Davis records. I've owned the 45 rpm version and the Japanese "orange square" pressing and the DSD captures the analogue warmth and detail.

Preview the title track and you will hear my point.


Kandace Springs - Soul Eyes Product No: XUNI887818F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Blue Note

Great!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 24, 2016 by jdubski Beautiful recording of a beautiful artist. KS has so much talent, and I expect, and hope, she'll have a long, long recording career. Every cut on Soul Eyes is terrific (particularly imo FallGuy and To Good To Last.) Those who enjoyed her initial EP may find SE somewhat more subdued, but, at the same time, her vocal stylings seem so much more developed and sophisticated on this latest work -- stylistically in a way that will serve her career well.


Myra Taylor - My Night To Dream Product No: XAPO2017D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: APO Records

AAtM

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, November 24, 2015 by Anonymous Bit late to the party but had to offer my thoughts. IMO this is a classic with or without DSD...this is ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC and if it sounds almost as good as the vinyl so more thanks to BHS & CK for bringing this priceless music to us...


Stanley Clarke, Bireli Lagrene & Jean-Luc Ponty - Jean-Luc Ponty/ D-Stringz Product No: XUNI575340F48
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download
Label: Verve Int'l

SOMEONE PLEASE RELEASE THIS ON VINYL!!!

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 14, 2015 by hockeyandallthatjazz The trio of Clarke, Ponty, and Al Di Meola gave us RITE OF STRINGS in 1995. I have their one and only disc and saw them live @ the Greek Theater in L.A. that same year. Fast forward twenty years later...now, 2/3 of the trio are back but this time Lagrene is on guitar. This album swings like crazy! I love it.

Verve, Music on Vinyl, Pure Pleasure, someone, please release this on vinyl!!!


Emilie-Claire Barlow - The Beat Goes On Product No: XNAX8899D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: 2xHD

Sound as intimate as an aural lapdance!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 13, 2015 by Anonymous First, let me say that I enjoyed this work immensely. I remember these songs from their days as the pop contemporary radio fodder of my youth. These arrangements are a delightful variation on them. Kudos to the engineering decision makers for not over producing the sound with too much overdubbing and layering. Simple orchestration and performances play right into the strengths of the DSD format. The panoramic distribution of the breadth of the soundstage was impressive. The only concern might be that the psycho acoustic mirage of the depth of the soundstage was a bit shallow, almost as if all the musicians were sharing the same couch during recording. My favorite tracks are the two versions of the Buffey Ste. Marie hit "Until It's Time for You to Go". I have memorized the English lyrics, and with enough listening time I just might become fluent in the French version. This is my first Barlow album. More in the future? Probably! Download this music. It's well worth your time.


Duke Ellington - Back to Back Product No: XUNI32692F192
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download
Label: Verve

Wrong personnel listed on this site

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 12, 2015 by Alvester Awesome album but that's "Papa" Jo Jones on drums. It's NOT "Philly Joe Jones as stated here on Acoustic Sounds as of 6:06 AM on August 12, 2015.

(Also please note the difference in the spelling of the first name for "Papa" JO Jones vs. "Philly" JOE Jones


Billie Holiday - Body And Soul Product No: XVRJ8197D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

The Greatest?

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 30, 2015 by Anonymous Question: Is this the greatest female jazz recording of all time? Answer: Yes.


Cassandra Wilson - Coming Forth by Day Product No: XSON74806F44
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download
Label: Legacy

WOW! Canssandra has out done herself!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 2, 2015 by Ray Fundora I downloaded the album yesterday, and its fantastic!


Ahmad Jamal - Ahmad Jamal's Alhambra Product No: XUNI47612D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Verve Reissues

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 24, 2015 by Anonymous


Diana Krall - Wallflower Product No: XUNI20719F48
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download
Label: Verve

Nothing Here for Audiophiles

2 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 8, 2015 by dsnyder0cnn Over the years, Diana Krall's albums have provided many reference tracks for audiophiles to evaluate new gear or tune up their systems. Besides that, they are just fun to listen to. Don't get me wrong. This album is still a fun listen, even though it's more mellow than her earlier jazz work. It's just that the recordings have very little dynamic range and sound a bit over-processed. DR values range from 6 to 8. That natural "air" and live energy that her earlier albums have is absent here. I appreciate her experimentation, but there's no reference material on this album for audiophiles.


Various Artists - Jazz at the Pawnshop Product No: XNAX9711F352
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 352kHz/24bit DXD Download
Label: 2xHD - Naxos

Significant Upgrade

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 8, 2015 by dsnyder0cnn I compared this version to the CD and 24-bit, 88.2kHz download from HDTracks. This version sounds much closer to the CD but there's a greater sense of presence. The previous HDTracks release (I suspect a PCM rendition of the SACD) has an artificially wide stereo image that does not feel as natural. This new Naxos 2xHD release is the one to have, placing you just a couple of tables back from Lars, Arne, and the gang. I loaded a couple of the tracks in to Adobe Audition, and spectral analysis shows zero content above 22kHz, so the 352.8kHz sampling frequency is a bit excessive; 24-bit, 44.1kHz would have been fine. If you're a fan, you owe it to yourself to add this release (or the DSD128 version) to your collection.


Newspeak - Machinery of Night Product No: XNEW6309F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Jack Renner

Wonderful album. What a find!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 3, 2015 by Mark Beautiful music, innovative arrangements and plenty of talent to go around.

These young musicians are exceptional.

Add to that some of the best sound quality you have ever heard. The album was recorded by Jack Renner LIVE DIRECT TO TWO TRACKS. Jack Renner is a legendary recording engineer who has won 11 Grammys. Few people, if any, know how to record acoustic instruments better than Jack.

In this world of lousy over-edited and more often than not highly compressed music it is truly refreshing to hear something recorded LIVE DIRECT TO TWO TRACKS in 24/96 resolution with no editing. Get ready for natural realistic sound with beautiful harmonic content, amazing imaging and superb macro and micro dynamics.

This album is a real find!

Highly recommended.


Kenny Burrell - Midnight Blue Product No: XBNJ84123D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions (Blue Note)

The band is in the room

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 16, 2015 by Hikmer This is one heck of a recording and if you don't already know, one of the best jazz blues records of all time. With that being said, this DSD recording is simply fantastic. I have a much better analogue playback system than my digital setup but I can't imagine it sounding much better on plastic. Also keep in mind you get two extra tracks...a must buy for anyone looking for jazz guitar and some blues thrown into the mix.


Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Out Product No: XAPJ8192D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 29, 2014 by Anonymous Listening to the DSD for the first time was like taking a blanket off of my system. Great openness and clarity.


Various Artists - Jazz at the Pawnshop Product No: XNAX9711D128
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Double Rate) 5.6MHz/128fs Download
Label: 2xHD - Naxos

Unbelievable

5 Stars
Posted Monday, December 1, 2014 by DC-Audioholic Was thinking about making changes to my audio system. Not quite satisfied with the accuracy, detail, soundstage, etc. Then I played this DSD download using a Sony HAP-Z1ES. To say the least, I found new satisfaction in my existing setup. Most importantly, I realized what I REALLY wanted was NOT about the equipment. It was this kind of source material. Perfection. Brightness, clarity, dynamic range off-the-chart. Crisp and precise. This is what high-end audio should sound like. Expensive download, but well worth it. It is the best source material I own, including all my SACD's, which I play on a very expensive McIntosh CD (MCD550). Nothing compares to the sound of this download played on the Sony HiRes DSD player.


Hugh Masekela - Hope Product No: XAPJ82020D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Analogue Productions

Masekela's Hope is a Joyous Triumph

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 17, 2014 by Anonymous This DSD rendering of Hope is as close as you're going to get to a live musical experience. The musicianship from the assembled lineup is spectacular. The soundstage created places you at the center of it as if you were sitting right there in the club as it was performed. There is no artifice no special effects or gimmicks just music by one of the preeminent trumpet masters of the Afro Beat Jazz movement. The mixing and mastering is superb. I sometimes forgot that this was a live recording only to be reminded by the enthusiastic applause coming from the audience at the end of each track. The music covers close to fifty years of Masekela's career and as always he sings and plays about his life and the people of South Africa. It is a joyous affirmation of his homeland, its people, and his talent. It is without question one of the best recorded live albums I have ever heard in all my years of listening to music. I was thoroughly impressed and you will be too.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 27 Products