Eddie Higgins Trio - Dear Old Stockholm





Product No.:
CVEN 0011 SA
EAN: 4571292516297
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

Celebrated jazz trio performs songs picked by fans!

By the time this album was recorded in 2002, veteran pianist Eddie Higgins had become one of the most popular pianists in Japan, thanks in no small part to the independent label Venus Records. To commemorate its 10th anniversary, Venus asked its fans which songs they would like to hear the Eddie Higgins Trio perform in their new album. Higgins chose 12 songs out of the top 25 and added two of his own choosing. It might be interesting for you to learn what songs are preferred by Japanese jazz fans.

With a lot of ballads, this is in most part a mellow, relaxing album. Supported by the deep, tuneful bass of Jay Leonhart and sensitive drums of Joe Ascione, Higgins plays these popular songs with elegance and restrained passion. His musical ideas are always flowing and harmonies beautiful.

Highlights include "Nardis" where the trio picks up the tempo and intensity, "Dear Old Stockholm" (the No. 1 choice of fans) and "Witchcraft" (swinging Sinatra number, anyone?). Great songs, wonderfully played. And as always the case with Venus Records, great sound. Single layer stereo SACD.



1. Moonlight Becomes You
2. More Than You Know
3. Nardis
4. Over The Rainbow
5. Dear Old Stockholm
6. I Remember Clifford
7. You And The Night And The Music
8. If You Could See Me Now
9. Again
10. We Will Be Together Again
11. Witchcraft
12. It Never Entered My Mind
13. Stella By Starlight
14. Blame It On My Youth

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it