Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Kicking Against the Pricks

 (2009 Remaster)


Mute Records



Product No.:
AMUT 10315
EAN: 5414939710315
In Stock

Vinyl Record

New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl reissue

Mastered at Abbey Road Studios

Kicking Against the Pricks is Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds' third album, released in 1986. For this record, which consists of cover versions, the Bad Seeds line up is Cave, new drummer Thomas Wydler, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld and Barry Adamson. Cave would later downplay the importance of the record but said it helped the band develop musically.

Remarking on the song selection, Cave said, "They were all done for different reasons. Basically a list of songs were made and we tried to play them. We tried songs by all sorts of people that never got on the record. Some songs were tributes, like the Tom Jones song; others, we didn't think were ever done particularly well in the first place. Some had haunted my childhood like 'The Carnival Is Over.' The strings were arranged by Mick Harvey and played by the Berliner Kaffeehausmusik Ensemble. 'The Hammer Song' is an entirely different song from the track with the same title on the 1990 Bad Seeds album The Good Son."

Vinyl transfer approval overseen by Mick Harvey, cut at Abbey Road Studios. This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on its original format.

Side A
1. Muddy Water
2. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
3. Sleeping Annaleah
4. Long Black Veil
5. Hey Joe
6. The Singer

Side B
1. All Tomorrow's Parties
2. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
3. The Hammer Song
4. Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart
5. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well
6. The Carnival Is Over

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it