Blondie - Against The Odds: 1974-1982

 (Limited Edition 180 Gram 4 LP Box Set + Book)

Blondie - Against The Odds: 1974-1982





Product No.:
ACAP 876074
UPC: 602508760747
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 4
Note: 180 Gram

Blondie: Against The Odds 1974-1982

Deluxe Limited edition 180-gram 4LP box set plus book

New York legends have sold more than 40 million records worldwide!

Bonus Material 4LPs — Plaza Sound, Parallel Beats, Coca Cola, Home Tapes — 52 tracks!

Session outtakes, B-sides and demos

128-page hard cover Liner Note book

Foil-wrapped slipcase

Remastered from the original analog tapes, vinyl cut at Abbey Road Studios

In what has become another major year for Blondie, the New York legends mark a career milestone with the release of the first ever authorized and in-depth archive in their history, a rarity for a band almost 50 years into their career with 40 million records sold. Blondie: Against The Odds 1974-1982 is being released on August 26, 2022 via UMC and The Numero Group.

What the seven members of Blondie set to tape over their first eight years remains among the most timeless music of its era, or any era. This is not hyperbole. Walk into a grocery store and "Rapture" fills the air. Spend an hour with any classic rock, '80s throwback, LITE FM easy listening, or rockin' oldies station and you will rediscover "Heart of Glass." Watch any given documentary on the birth of punk or hip hop, read any "Best Albums of All Time" list, and the stark three-color imagery of Parallel Lines will undoubtedly flash by. Visit any sports arena in the world and count the moments before you hear "Call Me." Blondie has transcended the realms of mere bands, evolving out of pop and punk to become a vital strand of American music's core DNA. Let this box set serve as a map of the genome.

This box set is a configuration featuring bonus material from the original Blondie lineup's six albums, appearing here on 4LPs - Plaza Sound, Parallel Beats, Coca Cola, and Home Tapes - a total of 52 tracks of session outtakes, B-sides and demos. Also included is a 128-page hard cover book of new liner notes. All in a foil-wrapped slipcase.


LP1 - Out in the Streets
Side A:
1. Out in the Streets (1974)
2. The Disco Song
3. Sexy Ida
4. Platinum Blonde
5. The Thin Line
6. Puerto Rico
7. Out in the Streets (1975)

Side B:
1. Nameless (Home Tape)
2. Mr. Sightseer
3. Sunday Girl (Home Tape)
4. Theme from Topkapi (Home Tape)
5. The Hardest Part (Home Tape)
6. Ring of Fire (Home Tape)

LP2 - Plaza Sound
Side A:
1. X Offender (Intro)
2. X Offender (Private Stock Single)
3. In the Sun (Private Stock Single)
4. Little Girl Lies (Private Stock Mix)
5. In the Flesh (Extended Intro)
6. A Shark in Jets Clothing (Take 2)
7. Kung Fu Girls (Take 8)
8. Scenery

Side B:
1. Denis (Terry Ellis Mix)
2. Moonlight Drive
3. Bermuda Triangle Blues - Flight 45 (Take 1)
4. I Didn't Have the Nerve to Say No (Take 1)
5. I'm on E (Take 2)
6. Detroit 442 (Take 2)
7. Poets Problem

LP3 - Parallel Beats
Side A:
1. Once I Had a Love (Mike Chapman Demo)
2. Sunday Girl (French Version)
3. I'll Never Break Away from This Heart of Mine (Pretty Baby)
4. Hanging on the Telephone (Mike Chapman Demo)
5. Will Anything Happen (Instrumental)
6. Underground Girl

Side B:
1. Call Me
2. Spaghetti Song (Atomic Part 2)
3. Die Young Stay Pretty (Take 1)
4. Union City Blue (Instrumental)
5. Llámame

LP4 - Coca-Cola
Side A:
1. I Love You Honey, Give Me a Beer (Go Through It)
2. Live It Up (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
3. Angels on the Balcony (Giorgio Moroder Demo)
4. Tide Is High (Demo)
5. Susie & Jeffrey

Side B:
1. Rapture (Disco Version)
2. Autoamerican Ad
3. Yuletide Throwdown

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it