Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Dusty Springfield - Dusty In Memphis


4 Men with Beards



Product No.:
A4MB 112
UPC: 646315111217

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

Sometimes memories distort or inflate the quality of recordings deemed legendary, but in the case of the 1969 classic Dusty In Memphis, the years have only strengthened its reputation. The idea of taking England's reigning female soul queen to the home of the music she had mastered was an inspired one. The Jerry Wexler/Tom Dowd/Arif Mardin production and engineering team picked mostly-perfect songs. This set has definitive numbers in "So Much Love," "Son of a Preacher Man," "Breakfast in Bed," "Just One Smile," "I Don't Want to Hear About It Anymore" and "Just a Little Lovin'." It's truly a disc deserving of its classic status.

1. Just a Little Lovin'
2. So Much Love
3. Son of a Preacher Man
4. I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore
5. Don't Forget About Me
6. Breakfast in Bed
7. Just One Smile
8. The Windmills of Your Mind
9. In the Land of Make Believe
10. No Easy Way Down
11. I Can't Make It Alone
12. Willie and Laura Mae Jones
13. Hi-De-Ho (That Old Sweet Roll)
14. What Do You Do When Love Dies

Customer Reviews (3.20 Stars) 5 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 11/23/2015
2 Stars
The lows and mid-range sound on this record are solid, but the high are very noisy and distorted to the point that it's almost unlistenable. I also should have sprung for the 45RPM version.

Mixed Review

posted on 11/08/2015
3 Stars
Excellent pressing, black background. My only complaint was the sound was harsh to my ears. Should have sprung for the Analog Productions 45RPM version. McIntosh doesn't lie.......BL

Fantastic music but noisy pressing

posted on 06/29/2014
3 Stars
Reviewer: Chris Kingham
I love this album and it contains some of the best female vocals I have ever heard. However even though the sound quality is superb the pressing itself is very noisy on some tracks. Pops and crackles abound... beware!

Dusty still lives!

posted on 11/10/2007
4 Stars
Reviewer: John Simpson
This a great album! It really brings Dusty back to life. Every song is easy to listen to. The pressing is good and beats the pants off of any CD. If you like female vocalists you really need this one in your collection.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.