Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

James Welch - Music for Christmas - In Concert at Stanford Memorial Church


Wilson Audiophile Recordings



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 1.90GB Total play length: 49:14

DSD file created from original analog master tapes

Cover art and liner notes included

Stanford Memorial Church is a tradition in itself. All those who visit the church come away with a bit of its richness: the visual aspect of its windows, carvings, mosaics, and high arches; its peaceful setting in the middle of the campus with gentiy rolling and often cloud-covered hills as a backdrop; and the reverberation of choral and instrumental music. Add to this the tradition of the Christmas season and its wealth of beautiful music, and the result is an unforgettable experience It is easy to understand why James Welch, who for four years served as Assistant University Organist at Stanford, has a deep appreciation for Christmas music at Stanford Memorial Church.

Nothing gives a performer such as Welch greater pleasure than to share with friends the opportunity to enjoy favorite music in such a unique setting.

It was while at Stanford in 1973 that yet another tradition was begun: in honor of a close friend, Mrs. Mary Finlayson of Woodside, California, whose birthday falls on December 5, Welch chose to offer a "Birthday Concert" of Christmas music. Each December since that time, the Annual Birthday Concert has been held in the Palo Alto area, often including guest performers, two of are represented in this recording. Mr. Welch has written a number of new Christmas songs, all receiving their premiere performances at these concerts.

Dave Wilson recorded the selections for this album using two AKG C-414 condenser microphones to capture a natural, ambient sound field. The omni pattern was used for all pieces except "Sleep Baby, and Smile," in which a figure eight pattern was employed, and "And Holy is His Name," in which the C-414s excellent hyper-cardioid pattern was used to good effect. Side one was recorded Dec. 5, 1976, and most of side two was recorded on December 4, 1978. "Sleep, Baby, and Smile" was recorded on Dec. 4, 1977.


1. 2 Pieces sur des Noels populaires, Op. 82 – No. 1. Accourez pastoureaux
2. 2 Pieces sur des Noels populaires, Op. 82 – No. 2. Il es en le divin enfant
3. Nun freut euch, lieben Christeng’mein, BWV 734
4. Das Orgelbuchlein, BWV 599-644 – In dulci jubilo, BWV 608
5. Sleep, Baby and Smile
6. The Night of the Star
7. Vom Himmel hoch da komm ich her
8. 3 Poemes evangeliques, Op. 2 – No. 2. La nativite
9. Choral Improvisation on In dulci jubilo, Op. 75, No. 2.
10. In Dulci jubilo
11. And Holy Is His Name
12. Divinum mysterium
13. Away in a Manger (arr. K. Chapman for organ)
14. Bring a Torch, Jeanette Isabella (arr. K. Chapman for organ)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it