Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

James Welch - Recital


Wilson Audiophile Recordings



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 1.60GB Total play length: 40:03

DSD file created from original analog master tapes

Cover art and liner notes included

Music and sonics 5 stars from The Absolute Sound

"James Welch is a young, bright-eyed and energetic performer, one whose likes are too seldom found on organ benches." — The Absolute Sound, winter issue 1979

Here is a prime example of a "little guy" showing the so-called giants of the industry how to do it. Working with modest-but optimized-recording gear and infinite attention to the niceties of microphone placement, Dave Wilson has captured an amazingly good likeness of a baroque-style tracker Flentrop organ. The instrument itself, I think, is one of the reasons why this recording works so well, writes reviewer J. Tamblyn Henderson for The Absolute Sound. "Its sounds, and the acoustic in which they are placed, are modest enough in scope and free enough of geographical awkwardness to allow a successful recording ... All that should be needed with such an organ in such a space is a good pair of microphones and some common sense, which is exactly what has been provided."

As for background on the material for the album, Dutch composer Jan Koetsier was born in Amsterdam in 1911 and commenced his studies in Berlin. He was active as an opera conductor in Germany and made his first appearance as a composer and conductor with the Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra in 1937. From 1942 until 1948 he was the orchestra's second conductor. In 1950 he accepted Eugen Jochum's invitation to become the first conductor of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

He has also conducted the Munich Philharmonic and the Bamberg Symphony. In 1966 Koetsier was appointed professor for the conducting class at the Munich Conservatory. His compositions include three symphonies. chamber music, an opera, an oratorio, and various other compositions The Partila for English Horn and Organ was commissioned in 1954 by a friend of Koetsier's in Munich who specified the English horn as the solo instrument as well as the chorale melody "Wie sch'on leuchtet der Morgenstern" ("How Lovely Shines the Morningstar") which is heard in the final movement.


1. Partita for English Horn and Organ, Op. 41, No.1
2. 18 Chorales, BWV 651-668 “Leipziger Chorale” – Num komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659
3. Kleines Orgelbuch – Sonne der Gerechtigkeit
4. Kleines Orgelbuch – Nun freut euch lieben Christen gmein
5. Kleines Orgelbuch – Freuet euch, ihr Christen alle
6. Organ Concerto in G Major, BWV 592 (arr. Of concerto by Prince Johann Ernst of Saxe-Weimar)
7. Herzlich tut mich verlangen, BWV 727
8. Fugue in G Minor, BWV 578
9. Organ Sonata in D Major

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it