The Jayhawks - Sound Of Lies


American Recordings



Product No.:
AAME 90956
UPC: 602537909568
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Preowned Vinyl Record
notch/ sealed

The Jayhawks' Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music reissued

Each a deluxe 180-gram 2 LP edition; Smile first time on vinyl!

Remastered in April 2014 using original  analog sources whenever possible

Bonus tracks included; plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings!

Just as they've done with their earlier albums, the Jayhawks — the beloved Minnesota twang-rockers — have reissued their three 1997-2003 albums Sound of Lies, Smile and Rainy Day Music as expanded double LP vinyl sets. Each features bonus tracks, fresh artwork and new liner notes. High-quality plating and 180-gram pressing by Quality Record Pressings ensures maximum fidelity!

The three albums were made after original Jayhawks co-leader Mark Olson left the band in 1995 and feature Gary Louris at the helm. Reviewers characterize their sound as more rock-oriented than their previous counterparts, particularly 2000's Smile," which was produced by Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd, Alice Cooper).

If previous Jayhawk albums sounded more collaborative, Sound of Lies sounds very much a Gary Louris album. "It's got that unrequited 'Blood On The Tracks' vibe and like that album, every track is near perfection," one fan of the album gushes online. Sound of Lies was The Jayhawks' most ambitious album to that point in the band's musical history, writes The album uses country-rock as a foundation and wanders off into a variety of different sonic territories, including surf rock and Beatlesque pop, bringing the music closer to the sound of adult alternative pop/rock. Although the surface of the album is pleasant and melodic, Louris penned a uniformly harrowing set of songs, inspired both by the dissolution of his partnership with Olson and a recent divorce.

All of the original tracks on the three newest reissues were remastered in April 2014 by renown mastering engineer Vic Anesini at Battery Studios in NYC using original analog sources whenever possible.

Sound of Lies and Rainy Day Music were only originally released on vinyl in very limited quantities so their reissue is great news for vinyl fans. Also back on the market are deluxe reissues of the seminal Hollywood Town Hall and Tomorrow the Green Grass, both also plated and pressed by QRP.

LP 1:
Side 1
1. The Man Who Loved Life
2. Think About It
3. Trouble
4. It’s Up To You

LP 1:
Side 2
5. Stick In The Mud
6. Big Star
7. Poor Little Fish
8. Sixteen Down

LP 2:
Side 1
9. Haywire
10. Dying On The Vine
11. Bottomless Cup
12. Sound Of Lies

LP 2:
Side 2 (Bonus Tracks)
13. I Hear You Cry
14. Sleepyhead
15. Kirby’s Tune (studio outtake)
16. It’s Up To You (alternate version)
17. Sound of Lies (rough mix)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it