Free - Free

 (Japanese Import (+4))





Product No.:
CISJ 9569 SA
EAN: 4988005838230
In Stock

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.


or Add to Wishlist

Second album from rock pioneers Free!

Free is the second album by English rock group Free, recorded and released in 1969. The band had spent time touring after their debut album Tons of Sobs the previous year, and there is a marked difference in the musicianship of the band as well as Paul Rodgers' voice. Whereas Tons of Sobs had been produced by Guy Stevens, Free was produced by the head of Island Records, Chris Blackwell.

This album saw the burgeoning of the songwriting partnership between Paul Rodgers and bassist Andy Fraser, which had been glimpsed on Tons of Sobs with songs such as "I'm a Mover;" here, eight out of the nine tracks bear a Fraser/Rodgers credit.

While Fraser and Rodgers made a strong writing partnership, tensions in the band increased. Kossoff, whose natural spontaneity had been given free rein up to then, particularly resented being taught very specific rhythm guitar parts by Fraser. However, Blackwell managed to keep the band in line to record the album.

High-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). Japanese pressing.

" album that stands alongside its predecessor as a benchmark of British blues at the turn of the 1960s." — AllMusic


1. I’ll Be Creepin
2. Songs Of Yesterday
3. Lying In The Sunshine
4. Trouble On Double Time
5. Mouthful Of Grass
6. Woman
7. Free Me
8. Broad Daylight
9. Mourning Sad Morning
10. Broad Daylight (Single Version) (Mono Mix)
11. The Worm (Single Version) (Mono Mix)
12. I’ll Be Creepin (Single Version) (Mono Mix)
13. Sugar For Mr. Morrison (Single Version) (Mono Mix)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it