Various Artists - O Brother, Where Art Thou?

 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Total download size: 2.38GB

Cover art included, liner notes not included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original DSD audio used to create the existing SACD.

One of the most successful movie soundtracks in recent memory. In order to capture the sound of Mississippi circa 1932, the Coen Brothers commissioned T-Bone Burnett, a masterful producer whose work with artists like Elvis Costello, Sam Phillips, Joseph Arthur and Counting Crows has earned him a special place in the folk-rock hall of fame, to research and re-create the country, bluegrass, folk, gospel, and blues of the era. The Coens were so taken with Burnett's discoveries that the film became a unique sort of musical revue. There are no original compositions here (though Burnett is given a "music by" credit usually reserved for composers), but nearly every scene in O Brother is set to a period song, and the music frequently drives and defines the action. With one exception ‹ a stunning 1955 Alan Lomax recording of a black prison chain gang singing "Po Lazarus" — every song was recorded for the film by an impressive assembly of old-time country veterans (Fairfield Four, Ralph Stanley, the Whites) and talented newcomers (Gillian Welch, Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris).

1. Po Lazarus -James Carter & the Prisoners
2. Big Rock Candy Mountain -Harry McClintock
3. You Are My Sunshine -Norman Blake
4. Down to the River to Pray -Alison Krauss
5. I am a Man of Constant Sorrow -The Soggy Bottom Boys
6. Hard Time Killing Floor Blues -Chris Thomas King
7. I am a Man of Constant Sorrow -Norman Blake
8. Keep on the Sunny Side -The Whites
9. I'll Fly Away -Allison Krauss and Gillian Welch
10. Didn't Leave Nobody But the Baby -Harris, Krauss, & Welch
11. In the Highways -Sarah, Hannah, & Leah Peasall
12. I am Weary (Let Me Rest) -The Cox Family
13. I am a Man of Constant Sorrow -John Hartford
14. O Death -Ralph Stanley
15. In the Jailhouse Now -The Soggy Bottom Boys
16. I am a Man of Constant Sorrow -The Soggy Bottom Boys
17. Indian War Whoop -John Hartford
18. Lonesome Valley -John Hartford
19. Angel Band -The Stanley Brothers

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it