Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Mariah Carey - #1's

 (Numbered - Limited)





Product No.:
CSONG 45889
UPC: 887654588920

Gold CD

CD Gold

Numbered, limited edition! Very limited quantities!

Only 1,000 numbered copies available!

Pressed In Japan!

In 1998, eight years after her debut, Mariah Carey released #1's, a compilation of her chart-topping hits. The album also included a new song, "When You Believe" (from the Dreamworks film, The Prince of Egypt), a duet with Whitney Houston that paired two of the most successful female recording artists in pop history. The song went on to win the 1999 Academy Award for "Best Original Song."

Carey is the best-selling female artist of all time with more than 200 million albums sold to date and eighteen Billboard #1 singles (seventeen self-penned), more than any solo artist in history. With her distinct five-octave vocal range, prolific songwriting, and producing talent, Carey has defined the modern pop performance. As a singer/songwriter/producer, she has been recognized with five Grammy Awards, nine American Music Awards, Billboard's "Artist of the Decade" Award, the World Music Award for "World's Best Selling Female Artist of the Millennium," and BMI's "Icon Award" to name a few.

Carey exploded upon the scene with the debut of her self-titled album in 1990, combining angelic allure and a vocal intensity never heard before. The critically acclaimed album spawned an extraordinary four No. 1 singles. Carey continued her early success with a series of hit singles from her subsequent albums; Emotions (1991) and MTV Unplugged (1992) that would secure her place at the top of the charts and pop culture.

With the release of Music Box (1993), Carey produced her most commercially successful album selling an astounding 30 million units. In 1995, Mariah became the second artist in history and the first female performer to have a song debut at No. 1 with the smash single, "Fantasy," off her hit album, Daydream. "Fantasy" helped define a new genre of music with the surprising hit collaboration with rap group Wu-Tang Clan's O.D.B. She produced a second No. 1 debut single off Daydream with the Boyz II Men collaboration "One Sweet Day," which subsequently became the '90s song of the decade. She followed with the hip-hop and R&B-infused Butterfly (1997), a natural progression to Daydream, which introduced a new chapter in her career and life, again working with the hottest names in the music business including Sean Combs and Missy Elliott.

"With a stunning five-octave voice that she routinely put through stratospheric gymnastics, Mariah Carey became an overnight star when she released her 1990 debut. Her vocal prowess drew comparisons to Minnie Riperton and Yma Sumac, but most often to her contemporary Whitney Houston. Yet unlike Houston, Carey co-wrote or co-produced her own gospel-inflected, dance-pop songs and ardent ballads. And her hard work paid off on the charts: Carey is the best-selling female artist of all time... She was the only artist to have scored a No. 1 hit in every year of the 1990s, and has had more No. 1 hits than any other solo artist in U.S. chart history. In October 1999 she surpassed the Beatles' long-running record of 59 weeks at Number One." — Rolling Stone



1. Sweetheart
2. When You Believe (from Prince of Egypt)
3. Whenever You Call
4. My All
5. Honey
6. Always Be My Baby
7. One Sweet Day
8. Fantasy
9. Hero
10. Dreamlover
11. I'll Be There
12. Emotions
13. Someday
14. Love Takes Time
15. Vision Of Love
16. I Still Believe
17. Without You
18. Do You Know Where You're Going To

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it