Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Hi Rhythm - On the Loose

 (+ Download Code)


Fat Possum



Product No.:
AFAT 12741
UPC: 767981127415
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.


or Add to Wishlist

Free MP3 download of the entire album included

Hi Records producer Willie Mitchell constructed his vaunted house rhythm section around three talented Hodges brothers during the late 60s: Guitarist Mabon (nicknamed Teenie ), bassist Leroy, and organist Charles. With drummer Howard Grimes (and on some of Al Green's sides, MG's trapsman Al Jackson Jr.) rounding out the lineup, this skintight Memphis quartet laid down surging, simmering grooves behind the entire Hi stable during the label's 1970s heyday: Green, Ann Peebles, Otis Clay, Syl Johnson, and Mitchell himself, to name but a few. Mitchell has patiently molded the unit since when the Hodges Brothers were in their teens.

As the succinctly named Hi Rhythm, they recorded the 1976 lineup LP On The Loose and remained a cohesive unit well into the 1990s.

1. Black Rock
2. On the Loose
3. Superstar
4. Since You've Been Gone
5. Purple Rain Drops
6. I Remember Do You
7. Save All My Lovin'
8. You Got Me Comin'
9. Skinny Dippin'

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it