Ben Webster - Gentle Ben


That rich, humid, giant sax tone blooms like on few other Webster recordings.

"Ah, that unique, highly individual sound of Ben Webster's sax, and nearly an hour's worth of it - in top-flight SACD sonics yet! The original session dates from November of 1972 in Barcelona, Spain, and Ben is front and center throughout - his every note and breath standing out in 3D." - John Henry, Audiophile Audition, September 2011

This recording was made 10 months before Ben Webster's death in 1972. Webster, who had left the United States in 1965 to settle in Europe - first in Copenhagen and then in Amsterdam - was visiting fellow musician and friend Tete Montoliu in Barcelona. Webster and pianist Montoliu went back a ways, having played together regularly in Webster's Copenhagen days. In fact, Montoliu cited Webster and Don Byas as his two chief musical influences. Webster and Montoliu understood each other deeply, and their comfort with on another is palpable in this recording. Their accompaniment of one another is seamless. On board with these two is Montoliu's regular working trio-mates, Eric Peter on bass and Peer Wyboris on drums.

There's no shortage of Webster's trademark breathy, fat tenor tone here. In fact, given the sparse arrangement, that rich, humid, giant sax blooms like on few other recordings. Highlights include "Ben's Blues," "Sweet Georgia Brown," "The Man I Love" and "Don't Blame Me."



1. Ben's Blues
2. The Man I Love
3. My Nephew Bent
4. How Long This Has Been Going On
5. Sweet Georgia Brown
6. Don't Blame Me
7. Did You Call
8. Barcelona Shout

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 10/21/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: Alvin
Very well miked, intimate, almost like being at a club listening to the musician. Excellent space.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.