Earl 'Fatha' Hines - A Monday Date

 ((Slightly Damaged))


Original Jazz Classics



Product No.:
AOJC 1740
UPC: 025218174015
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)
All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

Earl Hines, one of jazz's greatest pianists, was a modern stylist who broke up the usual stride piano pattern of the 1920s with unexpected accents and an uncanny ability to play successfully with time; he had the trickiest left hand in the business. After his orchestra disbanded in 1947 and he spent a few unfulfilling years as a sideman with the Louis Armstrong All Stars, Hines entered a decade of critical neglect and indifference in which his talents were pretty well forgotten; he found himself playing Dixieland in San Francisco for several years. This particular record is a decent Dixieland set with trumpeter Eddie Smith, trombonist Jimmy Archey and clarinetist Darnell Howard.

1. Monday Date
2. Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home
3. Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans?
4. Lonesome Road
5. Squeeze Me
6. Limehouse Blues
7. West End Blues
8. Yes Sir, That's My Baby
9. Caution Blues
10. Mandy, Make Up Your Mind
11. A Closer Walk With Thee
12. Clarinet Marmalade

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it