Amanda McBroom - The Amanda Albums


Sheffield Lab


Female Vocalists

Product No.:
CSHE 10080
UPC: 014391008002


Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Amanda McBroom's recording career began on an MGM soundstage where Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers had overdubbed the sounds of their tap routines over 40 years before. It was 1980 and she recorded direct-to-disc – not tape, no overdubs, no mixing, no fixing – for the prestigious vinyl audiophile label Sheffield Lab Recordings. Growing Up In Hollywood Town became an audiophile classic around the world and set a new standard for vinyl recording and Hi-Fi stereo reproduction. Billboard called the LP a "stunning artistic success" and Amanda became "the queen of the high end" for the purity of her vocals and the emotional depth of her songs. Sheffield released a second McBroom direct-to-disc recording entitled West Of Oz in 1981. Both recordings were compiled and re-released as Amanda by Sheffield in 1996.

1. The Portrait
2. Peter The Hermit
3. The Rose
4. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
5. Dusk
6. Hooray For Hollywood
7. Growing Up In Hollywood Town
8. Love Letters
9. Amanda
10. Silent Lady
11. Over The Rainbow/Dorothy
12. Dock Of The Bay
13. Not Gonna Say I'm Sorry
14. The Walk To Chatham Corners
15. Gossamer
16. Happy Ending
17. Only With You
18. Kitshicker
19. Reynosa
20. My Father Always Promised

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it