Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Anatole Fistoulari - Khachaturian: Gayne Ballet Suite


Classic Records (Everest)



Product No.:
CHDD 2016
Limited Stock

HDAD 24/96 24/192

No. of Discs: 2

HDAD 24/96 24/132

Also includes an aluminum CD.

This HDAD+ package contains two discs, one is a two-sided DVD-10 containing two channel 24 bit/192 kHz data and three-channel 24 bit/96 kHz data on one side, playable on DVD Audio players, and on the other side two channel 24 bit 96 kHz data and three channel Dolby AC-3, playable on DVD video players. The second disc included is a standard two-channel CD containing 16 bit/44.1 kHz data playable on all CD and DVD players. Transferred directly from the original 35mm three-track film by Bernie Grundman from Bernie Grundman Mastering and Len Horowitz from History of Recorded Sound at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood.

As with his Decca recordings of Ballet Music, Fistoulari again delivers a lively reading of Khachaturian's famous ballet piece. Is this performance the equal of the HP acclaimed Mercury? No, it's better! Add to that earth shattering bass power and spacious detail – especially in ambient high frequency range – and you have a winner that is both delightful and revealing to listen to over and over again. Bert Whyte is again at the controls for another outstanding Everest 35mm recording at London's famed Walthamstow Assembly Hall – the same hall used extensively by Decca and Kenneth Wilkinson.

1. Sabre Dance
2. Lyrical Duet
3. Dance of the Rose Maidens
4. Gopak
5. Lullaby
6. Lezghinka
7. Russian Dance
8. Gayne's Adagio
9. Dance of the Young Kurds
10. Dance of the Old Man
11. Fire

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Wonderfully exciting and fun!

posted on 02/19/2008
5 Stars
Reviewer: Richard L.
I got this disc as I had always liked Khachaturian's Sabre Dance. I picked this version as the write-up on it here at Acoustic Sounds described it as a lively rendering of the work. Neither the write-up, the performance or the HDAD disc disappoint on that score. In fact, I'd say if anyone claims classical music is boring, hand them this one as they obviously haven't heard it! Energy, Vitality, Enthusiasm are how I'd describe it. Even the slow pieces ripple with a subtle sense of passion and life. Including a CD is a nice touch as it can be played in the car or in a portable. You'll want to hear the DVD-Audio when you can, though, for as much as the CD is convenient, the DVD-Audio flat-out rules for sound. I just love how strings, horns and percussion come to life on DVD-Audio. Check out the track Lezghinka for an example. Not only does the percussion come to life but the reverberations in the hall are also wonderfully presented. This disc is a definite "keeper".

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.