Bjork - Fossora


One Little Independent



Product No.:
AOLI 1485
EAN: 5016958101374
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.


Björk’s first album in five years!

Inspired by the global pandemic experience

Delves into bass and heavy bottom-end music

Avant-garde alien superstar Björk is returning with a new album.

The last we heard from the legendary Icelandic singer-songwriter was in 2017, when she released her ninth studio album, Utopia. That album, filled with flute and string arrangements, was her airy and whimsical opus dedicated to love and the the concept of sanctuary, while also probing her own thoughts about the political and climate issues facing the world.

The artist has now set her gaze on the opposite side of the spectrum for her forthcoming tenth album. Fossora, which Björk formally announced on August 24, 2022, drags the singer back to the Earth to explore more grounding concepts.

"...each album always starts with a feeling that i try to shape into sound," wrote Björk of the concept behind the upcoming record in a poem-like caption on Instagram. "this time around the feeling was landing (after my last album utopia which was all island in the clouds element air and no bass) on the earth and digging my feet into the ground."

While the singer is back on solid ground for her new album, Fossora is sure to still arrive with its own eccentricities and boundary-breeching sounds, notes Nylon. The album's fantastical cover, which the artist unveiled on August 31, already hints at the gnarled, psychedelic universe that the musician looks to be building. As mentioned, Fossora will focus on the concept of grounding and landing, of "digging my feet into the ground." The album's title is a direct allusion to that concept; the made up word stems from the Latin word fossore, which means digger, delver, ditcher. Fossora is the feminine conjugation of the term, "so in short it means ‘she who digs' (into the ground)," writes Björk.

The record will also be heavily inspired by the past two years and the on-going pandemic.

"it was also woven into how i experienced the ‘now'," Björk adds. "this time around 7 billion of us did it together nesting in our homes quarantining[.] being long enough in one place that we shot down roots."


1. Atopos
2. Ovule
3. Mycelia
4. Sorrowful Soil
5. Ancestress
6. Fagurt Er í Fjörðum
7. Victimhood
8. Allow
9. Fungal City
10. Trölla-Gabba
11. Freefall
12. Fossora
13. Her Mother’s House

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it