Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Adrian Younge And Ali Shaheed Muhammad - Jazz Is Dead 009: Instrumentals


Jazz Is Dead



Product No.:
AJID 009
EAN: 4062548020847
In Stock

Vinyl Record

New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge are best known for their collaborations with vocalists and MCs, but these two multi-instrumentalists and producers excel in their ability to conjure musical moods with or without vocal accompaniment. This double-LP collection of 19 recordings presents exclusive instrumental versions of songs originally released on the Jazz Is Dead albums; Roy Ayers, Marcos Valle, Gary Bartz, and João Donato.

Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge were both formed in the culture of hip hop, but now find themselves as comfortable in the world of jazz. As DJs, musicians, record store owners and collectors themselves, they know what they like when it comes to jazz. It's the classic blue notes, the funky CTIs, the Mizell Brothers fusion, the greasy soul jazz, and Latin jams. Following a series of concerts, these two took their heroes into the Linear Lab studio to capture the musical magic to tape.

As masters of hip hop production, Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge value instrumentals as a crucial tool for beatmaking, but even for the non-producer these versions reveal new textures and highlight different dimensions of these songs.

More than the previous eight Jazz Is Dead releases Instrumentals delivers on Adrian and Ali's original promise of showcasing the music made with their heroes. These instrumental recordings encapsulate the spirit of the Jazz Is Dead concert and recording series, celebrating the African-American art form known as jazz through improvisation, musical collaboration and authentic cross-generational and cross-cultural communication.

Side A
1. Hey Lover
2. Oi
3. Visions Of Love
4. Aquarius (Bring Her Back Home To Me)
5. Soulful And Unique

Side B
1. Isso E Que Sei
2. Nao Negue Seu Coracao
3. Sunflowers
4. Queira Bem

Side C
1. Day By Day
2. Gotta Love Again
3. Forever More
4. Synchronized Vibration

Side D
1. Viajando Por Aí
2. Gravity
3. Não Saia Da Praça
4. Sua Beleza E Beleza
5. African Sounds
6. A Gente Volta Amanha

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it