Portugal The Man - In The Mountain In The Cloud





Product No.:
AATL 666962
UPC: 075678641862
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Gatefold LP reissue

The major label debut by Alaska's Portugal. The Man

There's a fine coat of glitter across the major-label debut by Alaska's Portugal. The Man, writes Rolling Stone. For In the Mountain in the Cloud, they piled on the mascara, set the way-back machine for 1972 and turned out 11 tracks full of vintage glam-rock pouting and preening.

Songs such as "So American" and "Got It All (This Can't Be Living Now)," with their cascading celestial-choir vocals and rangy guitars, make the band sound like Ziggy Stardust's distant cousin, and frontman John Gourley's elegant alto packs all the drama and grandiosity songs this regal require. "We all get strange," he coos at one point, "but we're cool with it." When being strange sounds this sublime, why shouldn't they be cool with it?

1. So American
2. Floating (Time Isn't Working My Side)
3. Got It All (This Can't Be Living Now)
4. Senseless
5. Head Is A Flame (Cool With It)
6. You Carried Us (Share With Me The Sun)
7. Everything You See (Kids Count Hallelujahs)
8. All Your Light (Times Like These)
9. Once Was One
10. Share With Me The Sun
11. Sleep Forever

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it