Johnny Rivers - The Best Of Johnny Rivers: Greatest Hits

 (Limited Edition)


Friday Music



Product No.:
AFRM 84659
UPC: 829421846598
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Limited edition 180-gram gatefold LP

Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso from original Imperial Records tapes

Johnny Rivers was born in New York City, eventually moving to Baton Rouge, Louisiana and at a very young age he would develop his love for music, and played guitar in his own bands throughout high school.

In the late 1950s, he cut some early singles and eventually became a major songwriter and had his songs covered by big acts like Rick Nelson, which soon became the catalyst that would kick-start the beginnings of a soon to be worldwide superstar.

While playing his unique brand of rock and roll at the world famous Whisky A Go-Go, mega producer and label and club owner Lou Adler was impressed and signed the legend to Imperial Records, and he immediately had major chart success with his first hit single Chuck Berry's "Memphis."

More success followed Johnny for decades as huge albums and massive hit singles were common for this legendary rock n' roller. Classic rock favorites like "Secret Agent Man," "Poor Side Of Town," "Blue Suede Shoes," "Tracks Of My Tears" & "Baby, I Need Your Lovin'" all became steady radio and retail favorites, which will forever live on in popular music history.

In honor of the Man, the Music and the Legend, Friday Music is very pleased to announce the first time 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl release of the EMI-Capitol/ Imperial Records classic The Best Of Johnny Rivers.

The blockbuster contains all the chart topping hits mentioned above as well more gold and platinum treasures like "Midnight Special," "Maybelline," "Where Have All The Flowers Gone" and "Summer Rain."

More smashes follow with the Willie Dixon blues belter "Seventh Son" and Rivers's big hit interpretation of Huey Smith's "Rockin' Pneumonia", which truly enhance further the wonderful music already contained in this LP.

Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso (Chuck Berry, Elvis Presley) at Friday Music Studios from the Imperial Records tapes, the audiophile album also includes a striking gatefold cover art presentation.


Side A
1. Maybelline
2. Seventh Son
3. Muddy Water
4. Memphis
5. Mountain Of Love
6. Poor Side Of Town
7. Where Have All The Flowers Gone
8. Baby I Need Your Lovin'

Side B
1. Tracks Of My Tears
2. Secret Agent Man
3. Midnight Special
4. Summer Rain
5. Look To Your Soul
6. Rockin' Pneumonia
7. Blue Suede Shoes

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it