Suzanne Vega - An Evening Of New York Songs And Stories


Cooking Vinyl



Product No.:
ACKV 763
UPC: 711297526318
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl LP with Damaged Cover
Cosmetic Damage

180-gram gatefold double LP

On An Evening of New York Songs and Stories, Vega revisits some of the most iconic songs in her repertoire as well as more hidden gems in a stunning live recording on which she is backed by longtime guitarist, Gerry Leonard, bassist Jeff Allen and keyboardist Jamie Edwards.

Recorded at New York City's famed Café Carlyle in early 2019, An Evening of New York Songs and Stories includes both familiar songs such as "Luka" and "Tom's Diner" and deep cuts from her catalogue like "Frank and Ava" and "Ludlow Street."

The mix of repertoire also features "New York Is My Destination" from Lover, Beloved: Songs from an Evening with Carson McCullers, Vega's one woman play about the Southern gothic novelist Carson McCullers, and a cover of her late friend Lou Reed's "Walk on the Wild Side."



Disc 1
1. Marlene On The Wall
2. Luka
3. 'So how many people are here from out of town?'
4. New York Is A Woman
5. 'This next song takes place on 59th street...'
6. Frank and Eva
7. 'So I myself came to New York City when I was 2 ½ years old'
8. Gypsy
9. Freeze Tag
10. Pornographer's Dream
11. 'This next song is called New York Is My Destination'
12. New York Is My Destination

Disc 2
1. 'The first time I saw Lou Reed...'
2. Walk On The Wild Side
3. Ludlow Street
4. Cracking
5. 'And now we've got a song about those times...'
6. Some Journey
7. 'I'm gonna close with this song...'
8. Tom's Diner
9. 'Would you like another one?'
10. Anniversary
11. Tombstone
12. Thin Man

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it