Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Joyce DiDonato - Songplay


Warner Classics



Product No.:
DWCL 585941
Limited Stock

Vinyl LP with Damaged Cover

Original Price: $22.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Record

All sales on this item are final and no returns will be accepted for any reason.

Please note: This item is being sold as cosmetically damaged. Damage may include but is not limited to bent corners, seam splits, cover creases or tears, etc.

Kansas City-born mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato greets you with a song in her heart and twinkle in her eye. Her album Songplay unites world-class musicians from the varied worlds of opera, jazz and tango in the pure pleasure of improvisation, experimentation and exchange. Together they create their own musical language, surprising listeners with timeless melodies transformed and universal stories retold over centuries; songs in English, in Italian and — naturally — in the universal language of music.

On Songplay, along with her hand-picked band led by pianist and arranger Craig Terry, Joyce draws inspiration from Cavalli and Chet Baker in equal measure. The languishing heart in Giordani's Caro mio ben is as emotionally charged as Jerry Bock's hopeful Will he like me?.

Perhaps the most compelling reminder of how the music of Songplay breaks down divides is from DiDonato's experience leading vocal and composition workshops in the New York prison Sing Sing, where one of the men who is incarcerated was particularly moved upon hearing her rendition of Caro mio ben: "I feel like I've known this song my whole life."

1. Arie Antiche, Book 1: "Se tu m'ami" / "Star vicino" (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
2. "Tu lo sai" (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
3. (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade is Over (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
4. "Lullaby of Birdland" (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
5. Arsilda, regina di Ponto, RV 700, Act 1: "Col piacer della mia fede" (Nicandro) [Arr. Terry for Jazz
6. "(In My) Solitude" (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
7. Doppo tante e tante pene: XVII. "Quella Fiamma" (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)
8. L'amor contrastato, R. 1.76, Act 2: "Nel cor più non mi sento" (Rachelina) [Arr. Terry for Jazz Ense
9. Spring Is Here: With a Song in My Heart (Arr. Terry for Jazz Ensemble)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it