Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes - Astral Traveling

 (Limited Edition Blue "Eternity" Vinyl)


Real Gone Music



Product No.:
ARGM 0894
UPC: 848064008941
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

New Arrival

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

or Add to Wishlist

Special edition blue "eternity" vinyl LP

Limited to 1,000 copies worldwide

For his 1973 debut album as a bandleader, Lonnie Liston Smith assembled a killer band of Cecil McBee on bass, George Barron on sax, James Mtume and Sonny Morgan on percussion, David Lee, Jr. on drums, Badal Roy on table, Geeta Vashi on tamboura, and Joe Beck on guitar. Such a multifaceted ensemble was perfectly suited to explore the spiritual jazz that Smith had encountered while playing with Pharoah Sanders ("Let Us Go into the House of the Lord" appears here and on Sanders' 1970 album Summun Bukmun Umyunwhich featured Smith), all presided over by Flying Dutchman label owner and former John Coltrane producer Bob Thiele.

For its first vinyl pressing since the late ‘70s, Real Gone Music has re-created the original gatefold artwork with Nat Hentoff's liner notes, and pressed up 1,000 copies in limited edition blue "eternity" vinyl. One of the great jazz albums of its era!

1. Astral Traveling
2. Let Us Go Into The House Of The Lord
3. Rejuvenation
4. I Mani (Faith)
5. In Search Of Truth
6. Aspirations

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it