Squares feat. Joe Satriani - Best Of The Early 80's Demos





Product No.:
AEMU 0214230
UPC: 402975914230
In Stock

Vinyl Record

New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

Early demos of the world-renowned guitarist's first band!

Restored and remixed by John Cuniberti

Joe Satriani has had a long and acclaimed solo career, his awards and accolades from fans and the industry alike are unending. Yet, through all of that, Satriani has often mentioned in interviews the musical trio that launched the next step in his musical career, his first band, the Squares, formed in Berkeley, CA in the late '70's.

Until now, no recordings of the inception of the legendary Satriani sound was available. Now that is all about to change! On July 12, 2019, Squares will be released. The first single is "So Used Up."

As Satrani explains, "We were part Van Halen and part Everly Brothers. A mix of heavy metal, rock 'n' roll, punk and new wave. We were hard to pin down and categorize, which is most likely why we never ‘made it'!" However, Satrani never lost his love for that time or that music.

What remains today are the original, early '80's demos recorded and mixed by the band's then live sound engineer John Cuniberti. They have restored the original recordings, brought them into the digital world, and with loving hands and ears, John has remixed the best of what the band created in studio. According to Satriani, "They sound better than ever. John was careful to preserve the band's original intent with regards to song arrangements, sound and vibe, and in some cases, extremely creative mix ideas."

1. Give It Up
2. Everybody's Girl
3. B-Side Girl
4. I Need A Lot Of Love
5. Can't Take It Anymore
6. So Used Up
7. You Can Light The Way
8. Tonight
9. Never Let It Get You Down
10. Follow That Heart
11. I Love How You Love Me

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it