Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Justin Townes Earle - The Saint Of Lost Causes


New West Records



Product No.:
AWST 5279
UPC: 607396527915
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

150-gram black vinyl gatefold 2LP

American roots troubadour Justin Townes Earle is back with his eighth album — The Saint Of Lost Causes. Earle's latest album finds a songwriter and artist who is unflinching and unequivocal in his truth. When writing this album, Earle focused on a different America-the disenfranchised and the downtrodden, the oppressed and the oppressors, the hopeful and the hopeless.

There's the drugstore-cowboy-turned-cop-killer praying for forgiveness ("Appalachian Nightmare") and the common Michiganders persevering through economic and industrial devastation ("Flint City Shake It"); the stuck mother dreaming of a better life on the right side of the California tracks ("Over Alameda") and the Cuban man in New York City weighed down by a world of regret ("Ahi Esta Mi Nina"); the "used up" soul desperate to get to New Orleans ("Ain't Got No Money") and the "sons of bitches" in West Virginia poisoning the land and sea ("Don't Drink the Water").

These are the individuals and communities in every corner of the country, struggling through the ordinary-and sometimes extraordinary-circumstances of everyday life. The 12-track set was co-produced by Earle and his longtime engineer Adam Bednarik and was recorded at Sound Emporium in Nashville, Tenn. Founded by Cowboy Jack Clement in 1969, Sound Emporium has hosted country luminaries such as Johnny Cash and Kenny Rogers as well as R.E.M., and countless other historic artists.

The Saint of Lost Causes is Earle's follow up to his critically acclaimed 2017 album Kids In The Street, and spans everything from traditional country, blues and folk to western swing, roots-rock and boogie-woogie.

1. The Saint of Lost Causes
2. Ain’t Got No Money
3. Mornings in Memphis
4. Don’t Drink the Water
5. Frightened by the Sound
6. Flint City Shake It
7. Over Alameda
8. Pacific Northwestern Blues
9. Appalachian Nightmare
10. Say Baby
11. Ahi Esta Mi Nina
12. Talking to Myself

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it