Paul Bley Trio - Modern Chant





Product No.:
CVEN 0314 SA
UPC: 458005115029
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

Inspiration from Gregorian Chant on SACD!

Modern Chant (subtitled Inspiration from Gregorian Chant) is an album by pianist Paul Bley, cellist David Eyges, and drummer Bruce Ditmas recorded in 1994 and released on the Japanese Venus label.

"Paul Bley has made a career — and a lot of good music — out of bedeviling our expectations. Here is yet another example — beginning with the CD's title, which might lead one to expect lots of parallel fifths and other borrowings from the newly repopularized music of ancient monasteries. What one gets instead is vintage Bley; we'll credit whatever inspiration he may choose, as long as it delivers the like of this set. Working with David Eyges on electric cello and Bruce Ditmas on drums, Bley is a fountain of ideas, sometimes suggesting divergent harmonic and melodic directions, sometimes reveling in the sound of a lone tone cluster ringing through the pulse. Eyges takes full advantage of the range of his instrument, moving between rhythmic and melodic contributions with grace and ingenuity. Ditmas respects the flexible time sense that Bley brings to bear, contributing texture and color as well as pulse to the proceedings." — JazzTimes

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!
• Japanese pressing

Paul Bley, piano
David Eyges, electric cello
Bruce Ditmas, drums

1. The New You
2. Sweet Talk
3. Funhouse
4. Please Don’t
5. Wisecracks
6. Spot
7. Russell
8. Digitant
9. Decompose
10. Loose Change

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it