Elliott Smith - Elliott Smith


Kill Rock Stars



Product No.:
AKRS 602461
UPC: 759656024617
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

"Elliott Smith’s self-titled second album was his first for the Kill Rock Stars label and also his first major artistic statement. Its sound is fairly similar to that of Roman Candle - it’s mostly just Smith and his gently fingerpicked acoustic guitar, embellished a bit more often with drums, harmony vocals, and the odd additional instrument. The main difference here is that Smith’s melodies and lyrics reveal their greater strength and substance with repeated listens. And make no mistake, the songs do require repeated listens - not just because of Smith’s often whispery, spiderweb-thin delivery, but also because of his deceptively angular melodies and chord progressions, which threaten to float away until the listener hears them enough to latch on and know where they’re going. Smith is often compared to Paul Simon or the Beatles in their softer moments, but perhaps the best touchstone for this early sound is Nick Drake’s even more minimalistic Pink Moon; while Smith’s language is rawer and tougher than Drake’s haunting poetics, his songs also deal with depression and loneliness, creating an almost uncomfortable intimacy with their bare-bones arrangements." - All Music Guide

1. Needle in the Hay
2. Christian Brother
3. Clementine
4. Southern Belle
5. Single File
6. Coming up Roses
7. Satellite
8. Alphabet Town
9. St. Ides Heaven
10. Good to Go
11. The White Lady Loves You More
12. The Biggest Lie

Customer Reviews (4.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 05/30/2011
4 Stars
Reviewer: StickMan451
This is a great record. It's a little noisy on a few tracks but it has that 'in the same room' sound that can convince you that Elliott is sitting there playing in your room and all the music is wonderful with exceptional lyrics. Highly recommended!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.