Charles Munch - A Stereo Spectacular - Saint Saens: Symphony No.3


Classic Records (RCA Living Stereo)



Product No.:
ALSC 2341Q

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

An organ lover, Bernie Grundman confided that this is the recording he has been waiting for to remaster since we started the Classic Living Stereo reissue series. This performance of the Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3 (Organ Symphony) is Grundman's favorite Living Stereo and it shows in the effort he put into the remastering. To say that it is incredible might be an understatement. Cut directly from the 3 track master for the first time ever reveals all of the glory of the recording and the precision and passion of Munch and the BSO in Boston's Symphony Hall. It doesn't get any better than this.

1. First Movement: Adagio; Allegro moderato
2. 1st Movement: Adagio; Allegro Moderato -Concluded
3. 2nd Movement: Allegro moderato; Presto moestoso
4. 2nd Movement Allegro moderato; Presto Maestoso

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Amazing Sound

posted on 02/08/2011
5 Stars
Reviewer: Vic N
I've always liked the music on this album. I've had the SACD for a while so decided to hear what Classic had done with this vinyl reissue. 30 seconds after the music started, all I could think was "wow, this is different". The sound quality is wonderfull. Very detailed, very focussed, great soundstage. If your system's good enough you can close your eyes and you're sitting in the centre of a theatre enjoying a live performance. The SACD release has quite a few spots on track 1 where a low frequency rumble shakes the hell out of your base speakers. This has been almost solved on this version with only two short periods near the end of the track. The low frequency rumble must be on the origional master tape, which is a shame as I really enjoy the music. If they could have gotten rid of all the rumble I would have given this a rating of 5+, but I'm still giving it a 5 just based on the great sound quality of this release.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.