Various Artists - God Don't Never Change: The Songs Of Blind Willie Johnson

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AALL 14968
UPC: 014551496816
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

A stunning collection of artists and performances celebrate the timeless music of legendary gospel bluesman Blind Willie Johnson. From Derek Trucks’ and Susan Tedeschi’s reverent reading of "Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning" to Lucinda Williams’ slide guitar-fueled lament in "Nobody’s Fault But Mine," from Luther Dickinson’s spirited take on "Bye And Bye I’m Going To See The King" (with The Rising Star Fife & Drum Band) to Tom Waits’ virtual embodiment of Johnson himself on "The Soul Of A Man" and "John The Revelator," this record is packed with incomparable recordings that speak as much to the greatness of the performers as they do the enduring legacy of Blind Willie Johnson.

Side 1
1. The Soul of a Man - Tom Waits
2. It's Nobody's Fault But Mine - Lucinda Williams
3. Keep Your Lamp trimmed and Burning - Derek Trucks & Susan Tedeschi
4. Jesus Is Coming Soon - Cowboy Junkies
5. Mother's Children Have A Hard Time - Blind Boys of Alabama
6. Trouble Will Soon Be Over - Sinead O'Connor

Side 2
1. Bye and Bye I'm Going To See the King - Luther Dickinson feat. The Rising Star Fife & Drum Band
2. God Don't Never Change - Lucinda Williams
3. John the Revelator - Tom Waits
4. Let Your Light Shine On me - Maria McKee
5. Dark Was the Night - Cold Was the Ground - Rickie Lee Jones

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it