The Modern Jazz Quartet - The Last Concert


Rhino Atlantic



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 3.60GB Total play length: 1:31:18

Cover art included, liner notes not included

The Modern Jazz Quartet broke up after the concert documented on this double CD. It would be nearly seven years before the group got back together again but it certainly went out on top. Mostly revisiting their greatest hits, the MJQ is heard on this two-fer playing inspired versions of such songs as "Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise," "Bags' Groove," "Skating in Central Park," "Confirmation," "The Golden Striker," and, of course, "Django." This set is a real gem (the music is essential for all serious jazz collections), featuring vibraphonist Milt Jackson, pianist John Lewis, bassist Percy Heath, and drummer Connie Kay at their very best.

1. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
2. The Cylinder
3. Summertime
4. Trav'lin'
5. Blues in A Minor
6. One Never Knows
7. Bag's Groove
8. Confirmation
9. 'Round Midnight
10. A Night in Tunisia
11. The Golden Striker
12. Skating in Central Park
13. Django
14. What's New?

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it